General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Summing up pollies in a single word... http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1282129590 Message started by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:06pm |
Title: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:06pm This thread has been prompted by a curious comment by White Dove... http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1282119092/39#39 White Dove wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 8:44pm:
After reading that post, I asked my two adolescent sons to describe Abbott and Gillard in one word each... I was both surprised and bemused by their responses - as I am sure some others would be... Abbott: knob, ignorant Gillard: spinster, Orangutan I have some ideas - but I confess that I am finding it difficult to sum either of them up in a single word... I shall ponder a while longer - meantime, I'd be curious to hear what words others might choose... |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Cyberman on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:07pm
Abbott: Real
Gillard: Puppet |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:10pm Equitist wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:06pm:
Nem, is it really surprising that YOUR kids called Abbott a knob? They do LIVE with YOU after all. ;) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Cyberman on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:11pm
He also beat them after they called Jooles an orangutan ;D
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:13pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:10pm:
Agreed - that one wasn't especially surprising - except that the word "knob" isn't used in my household (I can only assume that it is more common at school and/or in cyberspace)... |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:19pm Cyberman wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:11pm:
LOL...for obvious reasons, since ABC24 came on air, they've been exposed to quite a lot of political commentary - as well as some election propaganda on commercial TV - but I couldn't remember what words of abuse they had hurled in the direction of the TV... So, I read out White Dove's post to them and asked them to choose the first word that came into their mind to describe Abbott and Gillard - after which there was no censorship nor censure! |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mozzaok on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:25pm
Abbott; fanatic
Gillard; fantastic (I only put fantastic for Gillard because it mirrored the Abbott description so closely, but with such a different meaning, as well as annoying the Lib fanboys, lol, but my REAL one word description of Gillard is far less kind, it is; politician.) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by White Dove on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:25pm
;D Did I strike a cord Equi?
I wouldn't ever call Mr Rabbit a knob. He went to a Sydney Catholic school. The real knobs live in Melbourne and ask which school you went to when you are applying for a job. Or they used to. Tony will in 15 years time be an ex-Prime Minister and a very proud Grandfather. Miss Gillard is an Old Maid. In 15 years she will be eligible to play Miss Marple in one of Agatha Christie's who dunnits. ::) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:26pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:25pm:
Moz, I think you have had too much sun today... Are delirious. :D |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:28pm White Dove wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:25pm:
*spilled my mug of coco* Thanks ;D |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:28pm LOL...my 12 year old just walked into the room and got a glimpse of Fascist Barbie on Lateline - he asked the following rhetorical question: - "Why does this woman creep me out so much!?" BTW, he has heard me refer to 'Fascist Barbie' before - but he said he wasn't really sure who she was when he made that comment. He did remember she was that pollie from the chaser 'death stare' episode tho'! |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:33pm mellie wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:28pm:
Yer, I'll pay that one too! BTW, are you aware that Fascist Barbie is also a cunning spinster!? |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Verge on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:45pm
Abbott - Odd
Julia - back stabber. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:49pm judas - empty abbott - competitor |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by perceptions_now on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:54pm Cyberman wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:07pm:
I actually like both of those words, so - Abbott: Real Puppet Gillard: Real Puppet |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mozzaok on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:01pm mellie wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:26pm:
Seriously, I have had a prick of a day, but I thought you would appreciate, "politician" as a negative description of someone, with all it's implied shallowness and dishonesty. I sincerely wish that we could use the word politician without those negative traits coming first to mind, but I doubt I shall ever live to see it change. The disingenuous way that people praise politicians from a Party they prefer by mere fact of the being a member of that Party is something I do not get. I have liked some Lib pollies, like the OLD Cheney, Costello, Hockey, and my local member is also a nice guy I have respect for, and I have had Labor pollies I disliked, a lot, like Hawke, Latham, Cairns, Grassby, etc, in fact I could go on to name more Labor pollies I disliked than Liberals if I thought about it, because of the sense of betrayal you feel when you give support to someone who then does the wrong thing. So while I may not be emamoured with Gillard, I do not dislike her, but Abbott has long been near the top of my list of loathsome characters from the far right, and the distaste for his ideals is right up there with my distaste of extremist commentators like Alan Jones or Piers Ackerman, and frankly the thought of such a man leading our country makes me feel sick just thinking about it, as we could hardly do worse if we tried. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by Equitist on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:10pm perceptions_now wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:54pm:
LOL...that reminded me of the movie Shrek - specifically when Pinocchio says "I'm a real boy!" (and his nose grows)... |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:45pm
I'm not a fan of Hockey, he's a bit of a pink puffer, needs to lift his game ...he has the math right, just needs to deliver it more assertively. He's frank, and clearly won the debate on Sunrise this morning....he just has to sustain this now.
...Or perhaps i'm just still hoping Costello will come back...I miss question-time with Costello, the man's so switched on. A true sparky. Wayne Swan: Slippery-jack/Weasel, needs to brush his teeth and bathe more regularly..(I bet he smells), needs to stop telling lies...this and needs to understand what he's been programmed to say, because he lacks the capacity to understand his own budget. Hockey: Pink puffer, has the grunt, I have no doubt he knows what he's talking about, but requires charisma. He's a bull in a china shop. Julia Gillard: Went From Angela Anaconda to Madusa overnight. Tony Abbott: Leader, Iron Man, loyalist, family man, though too polite, (requires more fire) and his respect for woman is evident by the way he is particularly soft on Gillard, he needs to stop treating her like a woman, this is not any ordinary woman, it's probably casting spells on him as we speak. Hide your hair brush Tony. Gillards own parents are in a nursning home, I don't think she's a family person and her sisters opinion of her is rather sketchy albeit interesting. I sense she's had a dysfunctional upbringing, this and doesn't really have much regard for her own parents. Nursing homes are for people who's kids don't care about them, a retirement village is different, but a nursing home is ...well, not very nice... I get the impression Gillard is a little ashamed of her hereditary, her background, perhaps she's played those people to say they are related to her or something? Sorry, too many words I know :) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:52pm
Abbott : Down to earth, genuine, traditionalist..has heart, is loyal....physically attractive.
Gillard: A deceitful vexatious misandrist, bitter, spiteful, dishonest...the anti-viagra. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mantra on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:59pm Quote:
Wrong Mel. Sometimes nursing homes are the last and only resort for sick parents. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:03pm
One word -
Liars |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:08pm mantra wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:59pm:
Julias parents did not look nursing-home ready to me, or my mother, and my mother manages a community aged care and disability support service. Neither of them looked like nursing home material to me. Just looked like neither of their girls could be azzed. My parents give me the pips sometimes Mantra, but I'd be damned if I would send them to gods waiting room, until it was absolutely time...palliative care more than likely, and only then to make sure they were comfortable in the last few weeks. They aren't a close family, I can tell you this now. There's something wierd about the arrangement, the whole family, both sides, her and her boyfriend are not quite right.i |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mantra on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:16pm
Maybe they are a private family. You don't know why her parents are there. They're not in bed - so they might have one of those little rooms together where they are semi-dependant. They may not look sick, but they could have some serious health problems.
Do you think Gillard should give up her job and go and nurse them full time? They obviously love her and are very proud of her - so what's the problem? Don't judge other families by your own or those you see in photo shoots on TV. Not everyone can be the same. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:22pm
MOIRA GILLARD, MOTHER:
Private? Hardly! Well instead of Kirribilli, she got a nursing home Mantra~ |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:24pm
ALISON GILLARD, SISTER: It's always, sort of, slightly surreal still when you see your sister talking on the television, it's still exciting. And I still get a real buzz out of it. She comes across as being very feisty, pretty sharp and kind of nasty sometimes. She's not like that in her day-to-day life. So, obviously it's all part of the um, the show that they put on. It's all part of the game.
ALISON GILLARD, SISTER TO JULIA GILLARD: I've heard you've been voted the...is it Australia's sexiest female politician, or something? On that website? JULIA GILLARD: Yeah. On Crikey. Kimberley from my office rings up, 'cause they told her under embargo, so she rings me up and says, "Oh you know, I don't think you're going to be very happy "because it's not your kind of thing," and all the rest of it. So she tells me about it and then she says, "But, anyway, I don't think it's that sexist because they obviously weren't judging on looks." ALISON GILLARD, SISTER: That's nasty. JULIA GILLARD: Who else was high on the list? ALISON GILLARD, SISTER: Who is your competition, Julia? JULIA GILLARD: I'm actually not sure. I know Amanda Vanstone got some votes in the sexiest female politician. It's politics, so it's, you know, concessional, like, not normal-looking people. Latham always used to wander around saying "Politics is Hollywood for ugly people." I think that's right. ___________________ Private when it suits her! 8-) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:26pm Quote:
Clearly, her own sister sees through her false persona... Refer to the Gillard diaries transcript.. http://www.abc.net.au/austory/content/2006/s1586140.htm |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mantra on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:29pm
Do you have any idea how trivial those last few posts of yours are Mel? I interpret the three of them as having a sense of humour.
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 19th, 2010 at 12:02am mantra wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:29pm:
Trivial? Family matters Mantra, though the trouble is, I don't think Gillard is of this view-point. She lacks a sense of ...I dunno, just cant warm to her, she's cold. I have no doubt Gillard has a fantastic work ethic, though I think her moral fibre, her personal character is so machined by labors power-brokers, her visage lacks essence. And I can tell you now, once they are finished with her Mantra, they will eat her alive. You know it, and I know it. She doesn't have others who depend on her the way Latham did,(he had no choice but to hold it together as best he could)... I can see her going to pieces if they ditch her, which I think Shorten will after the election when she's served her purpose, if she doesn't willingly step-down herself as per arrangement. She's using Obamas policies, playing someone else's hand...somethings not right here Mantra, watch and mark my words. I'm sure about this. It's more than a hunch, I'm bloody certain of it. She is not who she says she is. :( |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by helian on Aug 19th, 2010 at 7:56am mellie wrote on Aug 19th, 2010 at 12:02am:
Very few are. Many are psychopathic screwballs... Put yourself in their service... Watch your back... Most of them you couldn't trust as far as you could sh!t them. Tireless, demented workaholics driven by a pathological ego. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by pansi1951 on Aug 19th, 2010 at 12:42pm
Two words
Bloody Liars! |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 19th, 2010 at 12:55pm |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by aussiefree2ride on Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:00pm mellie wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:52pm:
Anti-viagra, what a ripper. ;D |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by bwood1946 on Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:04pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:00pm:
she might be ANTI Viagra, but not ANTI Botox . She's is quite a good advertising for IT did improve her out of sight ITS A pity she wasn't :) |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:11pm
She is your classic misandrist, guys probably didn't approach her at school or uni given she was a plain Jane with a brain with the personality of a funnel-web spider...(ball-crusher)...quite taboo on campus..especially with respects to the degree she chose...Male dominated.
If she had looks on her side, she may have not become what she has today, may have actually liked men...this or come to know them at least. And so the rise of a commy socialist femmonazi! Medusa! ..... Hell hath no fury like a dejected-woman scorned...just ask Rudd, I'm sure he'll agree with me on this. She made Rudd her bitch! ... :P |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by aussiefree2ride on Aug 19th, 2010 at 2:21pm mellie wrote on Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:11pm:
THAT`S NOT FAIR!! >:( I`ve known some very personable spiders. Naughty Mellie! |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by mellie on Aug 19th, 2010 at 2:28pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Aug 19th, 2010 at 2:21pm:
My apologies to the arachnids ....you're right...they can be a pleasant even homely creature, when not invading my own personal space of course...*jitters* ;D... |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by DARWIN on Aug 19th, 2010 at 2:29pm
Julia - fantastic
Abbott - narcissist (lazy, misogynist, extremist, Opus Dei, serpent eyes. . .) Abbott may have gone to “a catholic school” but that school only took the top 1% by IQ, as elite as any CofE elite school. |
Title: Re: Summing up pollies in a single word... Post by laborfornever on Aug 19th, 2010 at 4:17pm
Gillard = Magician, Chameleon, Indian Giver, fraudster, manipulator, deceiver, liar, hocus pocus, incompetant, wasteful, arrogant, aggressive, dominant, and dam dog ugly.
Of all of labor pollies, Gillard and Wong the 2 I hate the most she is a master manipulator and liar twisting facts promoting half and non truths, Rudd was just incompetant, Tanner and Faulkner are Ok. But Gillard bugger me dead if I could reach through the Tv and rip her head off her shoulders I would. Shouldn't gillard be playing footy now, after all the day the coup took place in the AM she said she was 100% behind Rudd and he had her full support, she wasted billions and would do it again. She is a dam disgrace. |