General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Debate. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1281502667 Message started by James Bluntus on Aug 11th, 2010 at 2:57pm |
Title: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 11th, 2010 at 2:57pm
This is for the debate between Iamtheman and myself.
I'll let the libs start first. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:02pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 2:57pm:
It's YOUR debate mate, YOU start it. ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Verge on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:15pm
Great, an e-masturbate.
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mellie on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:22pm
You lot call this a debate?
Now even I feel embarrassed for you. 8-) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:23pm mellie wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:22pm:
It's at about the same standard as abbott vs gillard. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:24pm ... wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:23pm:
Sadly True |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:27pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:24pm:
Excuse me but James requested this 'debate' so rightfully HE should open it. :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:31pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:27pm:
Just answer his arguments he put forward on youtube. But I agree he called he should make the opening statement http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPZ6fyIybD0 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPZ6fyIybD0 |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:31pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 3:27pm:
Agreed. Your serve Bluntus. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by aussiefree2ride on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:11pm
Does this debate have a topic?
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:19pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:11pm:
The 'debate' request issued by James , who is 15 years old i might add, was based on the following statement from HIM; Quote:
Prior to this he claimed this about Abbott; Quote:
I i'm assuming James wants to debate WHO is the 'better' economic manager. :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:21pm
so...that kid on the youtube video is ACTUALLY him?
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:23pm ... wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:21pm:
Yep, that's him. LOL. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 11th, 2010 at 4:28pm
LOL.
Well, good luck, he looks very....errrr....competent.... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:20pm
Okay. I'll open the debate. First of all, I'll respond to the comment about my age. While I may only be 15 years old, I know that you need to spend money to improve services. If the Rudd government did not move quickly to implement the stimulus package, we would have had a higher unemployment, higher cost of living than it already is, higher inflation, and the interest rates would rise faster than they already are.
The government has been a responsible government in terms of looking after the older section of the population. They provided a $30.00 increase in the single aged pension. This is more than what a coalition would have done. Tony Abbott has said himself tonight on the Peoples Forum that he has nothing to offer for pensioners. I would like the Liberal supporters to tell me how Tony Abbott cutting the NBN, Laptops in Schools, BER and Trade Training Centre's will benefit education and improve education? Can the Liberal supporters assure me that no part of Workchoices will return under a Coalition government? I wait for my opponent's response to this. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:32pm hi james, thanks for you honesty. Quote:
That's a false supposition. The same did not happen overseas. Quote:
fasrter downloads of porn, outdated laptops and unwanted sheds do not help education. lack of waste there and spending on teachers help education |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:44pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:32pm:
fasrter downloads of porn, outdated laptops and unwanted sheds do not help education. lack of waste there and spending on teachers help education [/quote] I really don't know how to read you Sprint. One minute your Labor, next minute your Lib. Outdated Laptops you say? Are you a recipient of the laptop? I am, and I can tell you, that the laptops have been a huge help for me as a student in the classroom. The BER could have been thought out better by giving the money to the school to spend. I don't believe you said anything about the TTC. If they scrape the NBN, we will be way behind in terms of technology. How do you improve services, if you cut money from those services? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:47pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:32pm:
Why is it whenever the internet is discussed it "faster porn" NBN or "child porn" filter. Just a tip for both sides the internet does alot more than aid masturbation. ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:49pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:47pm:
Here, Here. As I have been saying. We would be way behind in terms of technology without it. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:56pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:49pm:
What do you mean 'without it'? Are you referring to the NBN? Please understand only 2, i repeat 2 towns currently have access and today the first school was connected in Tassie. The VAST majority of economic hubs are currently services by ADSL2+, in fact Telstra has just upgraded Melbourne to 100mbits/sec and Optus will be upgrading ALL it's FO to 75mbits/sec. The ALP NBN is NOT necessary and WILL blow over budget. One only needs to compare it to Singapore to understand that. As for the Computer program, WHAT guarantees do we have from Labor that the program will continue into the future? Will this be a one-off vote buying exercise that will only benefit those how have already or are targeted to receive theirs? The 'idea' behind the Computer in Schools program was for students to have access to the NBN to create an online learning environment, however it appears the ALP have got things arse about once again. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:57pm james - so i assume your laptop survives on the system it has ? how old is it ? how has it that Quote:
I am not trying to disprove you. we have finite financial resources, and education is to be grasped by the eager, not pushed onto the unwanting. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:05pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:44pm:
I really don't know how to read you Sprint. One minute your Labor, next minute your Lib. Outdated Laptops you say? Are you a recipient of the laptop? I am, and I can tell you, that the laptops have been a huge help for me as a student in the classroom. The BER could have been thought out better by giving the money to the school to spend. I don't believe you said anything about the TTC. If they scrape the NBN, we will be way behind in terms of technology. How do you improve services, if you cut money from those services? [/quote] James, surely a smarter approach to the BER stimulus program would have been to bring forward the roll-out of the 'TTC's' as part of the overall package, instead of wasting it on COLA's and new for new building? ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by White Dove on Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:06pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:47pm:
Only the dopey GALP voters in Adelaide and NT want this nonsense. ADSL2+ is as fast as you need to download movies and watch porn (so they tell me). Does anyone who wants this NBN really know what it involves? To set up an area with "cables" either means "rolling them out" via the telegraph poles or digging to lay them underground . I suspect that if "cabling" via telegraph poles was feasible that would already have been done. In my area, they talked about cabling but since all services (phone, electricity, gas, etc) are underground digging to install cable for the Internet wasn't feasible. Too costly, blah blah. So the local GALP Government has done NOTHING. It has been up to Telstra and other ISPs who have hijacked the telephone exchanges and made them ADSL2+ . Besides. Cable is so last decade. There are many other types of ways to get "fast" internet. How fast do you want to download porn anyway? I find my current ADSL2+ is fast enough to watch movies, if I want. At $49.95 a month for 20 Gigs "free". I doubt that I get to 3 Gigs a month. How fast do you vant your email? ROFL |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by deepthought on Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:28pm
Telstra and Optus already have cable offering the projected speeds of the white elephant NBN today. And this cable passes about 2.5 million homes.
The problem they have is getting people to sign up. If people won't take up the offer now why does the GALP reckon they will do so when they put a replica cable alongside? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by deepthought on Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:35pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:20pm:
The GALP gave with one hand and took away with the other as they always do. As you know Jules was opposed to the increase because, it was claimed, she reckoned old people don't vote Labor. And why would they? When the GALP increased the single pension they slashed the ratio for couples from 167% to 150%. Effectively reducing the increased amount to couples. They also lifted the tax rate for earnings above the sepcified amount making pensioners who earn extra income over that amount the highest taxed people in the country. Don't believe a word of the GALPs. They are very deceptive and they always punish those least able to pay. They care only for themselves and their union mates. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mozzaok on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm Quote:
I am sick of hearing uninformed opinion about the NBN, ALL the people with any knowledge, and expertise in the field, understand that fibre optics is the only way to deliver fast, "RELIABLE" broadband, that will meet the needs of the country for the foreseeable future, that meaning, for at least several decades to come. Copper is 19th century technology, and only the Libs would be stupid enough to suggest we stick with it as our infrastructure to go into the future with in the 21st century. The cost blowout lie being spread by Liberals is politely described as misinformed, by people who work in the industry, who expect the NBN to actually be able to be delivered significantly cheaper than expected, due to Telstra getting involved and allowing it's cable carrying systems to be used, which will save billions. Now whilst I do not think Labor's NBN is perfect, it is a "REAL" plan, delivering "REAL" infrastructure, which will deliver "REAL" results, unlike the Libs bullshite scheme to tinker with the copper., which will deliver nothing better than we already have. Why does the Liberal party hate Australia so much that it refuses to invest money HERE? They preferred to send the tens of billions of aussie dollars overseas to be swallowed up by a US investment fund, just before the big crash. Great financial managers who do not like investing in Australia, yep, that sounds like the Libs to me. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:32pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm:
Actually moron i have extensive experience within the field, hence the reason I said the 'ALP NBN' is NOT necessary, NOT FO is not necessary. Clearly it's YOU who doesn't have ANY industry knowledge given you've been sucked in by the spin; either that or you lack comprehension skills. Do some research before opening your ignorant mouth again. I bet YOU think the 'Computers in Schools' is on budget? LOL. And FYI, I don't support either plan as they are both flawed. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:41pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm:
FYI moron, a VERY good percentage of the Telstra Network is due for upgrade anyway, but i suppose YOU think FO last forever? LOL. How about offering something of VALUE in future instead of your usual misinformed bias rubbish. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:58pm Those of you, who are saying that we don't need substantially faster internet, appear to be ignorant of the trends in online marketing that are consuming ever larger amounts of data and increasingly-impacting upon load times... With 3 regular internet users in my household (2 being techno hungry adolescents), we are finding that we are starting to regularly breach our monthly 12GB allocation - which, incidentally, is about double our maximum usage in the preceeding year... For obvious reasons, I have been under increasing pressure over the past few months, to fork out to upgrade our plan... My 15YO just scoffed at a comment he heard on Lateline about the Libs' claims that the speeds under their plan were adequate... Either way, I reckon that the Libs have severely underestimated the nature and extent of the trends in both corporate and household internet usage - and therefore the unpopularity of their terribly counter-intuitive and counter-productive proposal... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:01am
have you ever thought about telling your expensive adolescents "NO", they cannot have more internet access, instead of letting them feed on their own expectations. That isn't the labor way though is it.
Here you go, I can do it for you, get them to read this post: "No, you spoilt left wing ingrate, you can't have any more internet access, and what's more, you're going to have it reduced - unless you would like to get off your butt and go out and get a job to help pay for your own pastimes." |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:04am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:01am:
LOL...I thought that the Conservative way was to promote wanton consumption to feed shareholder parasites and their insatiable Growth Fairy!? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:05am Equitist wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:58pm:
Nem having a faster internet will not increase your data allowance. Perhaps you need to shop around, TPG is offering 500GB/month on an ADSL2+ plan (with line rental included) for $69.99/month. Bare in mind it's not available at all exchanges yet. In fact Iprimus are offering their FTTH plans for $140/month with 300GB (80 peak/220 off-peak) which is an absolute ripoff for what it is. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:10am
...and there was I thinking that the "conservative way" was to live within your means and not spend more than you have. Silly me. Jee, where does that leave wanton consumption by break-the-treasury, raid-the-utilities labor government deficit spending like there is no tomorrow.
You have been twisted by manufactured left wing propaganda. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:13am
Why in blazes name would you want 500GB a month for?
Can someone get these kids off the bloody computers and whinging about liberal party politics and get out and do some exercise instead of downloading mindless stupid things off the internet, and other such luxuries and whinging about how hard done by they are. Bloody hypocritical laborities. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:16am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:13am:
Yeah it is a lot. I only use about 150Gb - 170GB on average and that's usually downloading 2 or 3 movies a day, throw in some software and games and it gets up there. BUT with my current 24Mbits/sec ADSL2+ i'm MORE than happy with the speed. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:26am
Yeah, great, well get a life is all I can say; or get a job to pay for your own luxuries.
Of course - movies, software, computer games. Two or three movies A DAY???!!! Not so long ago (before the internet), people used to hang out for the weekly movie on Sunday night television; before that, people used to hang out to hear a radio. And who pays for all your internet access? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:27am iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:05am:
Indeed, Ima...I am aware that data allowance is totally independent of my internet speed - I was trying to illustrate that normal internet usage is becoming ever more data hungry and therefore that national capacity and download speeds will matter a lot more in the near future... Oh, and I disclosed our household data usage challenges because a certain right whinger was scoffing earlier, at the claims about the community's projected demands for higher data usage and speed - on the basis of their own remarkably low 3GB usage... Anyways, thanks for the carrier tips - will definitely look into them but we're still with Telstra here cos our region is just far enough out from Sydney, as to have been relatively-starved of reliable and cost-effective internet choices (and our mobile phones frequently cut out)... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:27am gillard got publically buggered up the arse on that one |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:30am Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:27am:
Nem, what region are you in (roughly)? Is it the hunter? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:30am
ah, there's the spoilt middle class champagne socialists again, commiserating about the parlous state of internet usage.
God save us from these navel gazers; and this is the attitude they bring to government, and this is the policy drivel they come up with to pander to their ilk to try to win elections. It's pathetic. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:31am PS Ima, with data usage like that, methinks you might need to get another hobby! ::) PPS Yup, on the cusp - somewhat in bureaucratic no man's land! |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:33am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:26am:
That would be the people who purchase my 'pirate' movies and software. LOL. ;) I don't actually sit behind the computer and watch them download you know, that's what download managers are for. :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:33am
yeah, what are you watching? Porn re-runs?
God save us from this bullsh8t going on in this country. High speed internet! How about a high speed food delivery to the 14 million displaced people in Pakistan standing up to their necks in floodwater. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:34am Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:31am:
My hobby pays though Nem, so it's all worth it. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:35am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:33am:
Not re-runs, it's ALL fresh. ;D |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:35am
you don't have a life, mate. You don't know what you have missed out on. Maybe that's just as well.
you've got "labor voter" written all over you. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:38am iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:34am:
LOL...I don't wanna know any more! I just noticed the time - I've really gotta hit the sack! Meantime, I added this PPS to an earlier post - so you may have missed it: - Quote:
Nite all - sweet dreams of redheads under yer beds! ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:40am Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:31am:
These links will help you find a better option Nem. http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au/providerexchanges.php?Location=NSW * Just track down your local exchange to see if ADSL2 (Green) is available. & http://broadbandguide.com.au/ * This one will help find a plan based on your needs. Bare in mind some info will be outdated but just find the ones you like and check their website for latest pricing. :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:41am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:35am:
LOL, now THAT is funny. I'm a Liberal voter mate, have been for the past 15 years. :o And FYI, i don't have any family so i have PLENTY of time to do what I want to do. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:45am
well you might vote liberal - might -
but you still have labor voter written all over you. Stop with the porn, pal, you'll go blind. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:46am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:45am:
What are you actually basing that claim on? Because i know how to use the internet to make money? LOL. :o |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:51am
I'm basing it on the impression you are giving about being overly concerned about something as vacuous as the state of internet speeds in Australia - that's something that labor people think is a really big priority in the scheme of things.
Knowing how to use the internet to make money isn't really an earth-shattering revelation. I think it's pretty common; why, are you very proud of that achievement? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:56am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:51am:
Actually mate, as someone who works within the industry naturally i'm going to support an improvement to infrastructure, my work depends on it. Understand NOW? ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:00am
if it makes a significant difference to your work and income, yes.
What p*sses me off are spoilt brats (including the adult brats) sitting on their butts at home whinging because they can't download enough bullsh8t off the net fast enough, and demanding the rest of the country to pay for an infrastructure that allows them to do that, to the extent that we now have both sides of politics pandering to these whims. It's a bit sickening when you see the problems in the country and in the world generally. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:03am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:00am:
Such is life, we can't help everyone. :o |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sham pain socialist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:05am
Sounds like a sound grab from The Titanic. Make sure your deck chair is securely batoned down.
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Ernie on Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:48am
I just wanted to say how much I admire Daniel Turner (is this James Bluntus?) for using the medium so professionally.
He has raised the bar on this forum, by putting his youtube where his mouth is. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mantra on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:29am shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:00am:
I have to agree with you. There is a lot of waste on the net, but most computers sold today encourage kids with all these inbuilt game and chat sites which they are addicted to. I think fast broadband will be for the benefit of businesses mainly. Those using the net at home for recreation don't need it, although eventually it's supposed to free up medical services ie. diagnostics for the ill at home etc. Even a minimal GB plan is expensive today and it's obviously the parents who are paying for their kids' indulgent downloads. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:36am i cant imagine how an fast broadband will help a business |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:40am
The new champion
He chose the venue to suit himself and it threw judas gillrudd off. she has been travelling more now, julie is in tassie today, He's still insydney. Who has the wiser schedule ? Quote:
http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/national/tony-abbott-gets-boost-from-town-hall-victory/story-fn5z3z83-1225904173519 |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mantra on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:42am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:36am:
How many times have you dealt with an agency of some sort and had to wait for ages until their computer loads up or gets to the information they need. Sometimes it would be quicker if they did the job manually. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:46am their computer will still take as long. And, in the last 5 years, I have probably never had to wait ages for a companies computer system. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:46am Crikey, SC...your infatuated roots are showing.... ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:36am:
Shirely, you can't be serious, making a comment like that in the 21st century!? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:51am zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz tell me how, i cant imagine it. how will a fastest net in the world improve productivity over a reasonably fast one. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:16am
Well this debate went to hell in a handbasket pretty quick.
Did it ever really get started??? Not the best start there young James, perhaps next time you call one you will open with your argument for or against the proposition & another good idea may be to hang around & respond instead of just popping over every 2 or so hours. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by longweekend58 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:40am Equitist wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:58pm:
I'd be asking where your 12Gb is going. remember that 12Gb is a HUGE amount of data unless you are downloading movies or torrents - or porn. time to find out where it is all going! |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by longweekend58 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:45am mantra wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:42am:
AS a database developer I would say it is far more likely that the delay is at the other end - the database end. modern database systems send relatively small amounts of data down the line and the speed of the line is usually irrelevant. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by longweekend58 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:47am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:51am:
its an excellent point. Just because something is faster does not imply that it is more efficient. When I started installing PCs in the 1980s they made a massive difference to productivity in the office. with computers that are now literally 1000 tiems as fast, do you think productivity has improved that much? it hasnt. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:45am Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:16am:
I do have other things to do with my life. Like studying for my School Certificate. Over the past few days I have been incredibly sick. Couple of points on the coalition's alternative NBN. It is incredibly slow compare to Labor's. Not everyone uses the internet for pornography. It is possible to use it for school work and research and such. Know what that is? It will not reach anywhere near the area's that Labor's will reach. It is wireless. One of the most unreliable sources of broadband networks available. I have had a wireless connection and it was one of the most unreliable pieces of crap I have ever had. I have a wireless network at school, I can't count on my fingers and toes that it has been out. Horrible. How can they call it a reliable connection? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:48am James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:45am:
Don't call it then if you don't have the time & for christ sake stop giving personal info out, we don't want to know & those that do YOU don't want to know. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:50am Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:48am:
Well. I should think that staying on here until 11pm last night and coming on at 10am would be enough. What personal info? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:01am James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:45am:
Sorry to hear you've been so unwell, mate! Meantime, I note that you disclosed your school - coincidentally, I drive past that area most days... *Putting parent cap on now* I reckon that was a risky mistake for you to post that level of personal information on a public forum like this one. Hence, I didn't quote that bit of your post. For the same reason, I suggest that you go back and modify your original post, to delete the name of your school! Keep safe and get well! ;) PS Smithy, I reckon you should do the same - i.e. delete the school name! ;-) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:04am Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:01am:
Thankyou. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:04am James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:50am:
Well James having only noticed your posts 48 hours ago yet I know what you look like (thanks youtube), I wouldn't be surprised if that's your real name above youtube or on here, I know how old you are & now I know where you attend school. Where the bloody hell are your parents or guardian,don't they supervise or at least check what you are doing online? If my daughter was revealing that sort of stuff online she'd be banned for the rest of the time she lived under my roof. Response time James not length of time logged on was what I was talking about. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:06am
good advice Thy, done ;)
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:10am
Thanks for the advice. I'll take it on board.
Now to the debate again? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:28am Onya guys - phew! :-X Actually, James - just noticed that you missed the one at 10:50am! |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:50pm
I think I have fixed everything. Are we going to get back to the primary purpose of this thread now?
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:38pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:50pm:
LOL James, if we knew the purpose maybe. No premise has been set out all we know is you are supposed to be debating Iam but about what we have no idea. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:46pm
Before we return to the orginal purpose of this thread...
I would like to make one comment on the NBN.. Unless the Government (whoever they are, Lab or Lib) intends to return to the old days of Telecom, and operate a public telephone/internet company....as was done before the privatisation of Telstra.. Then there is NO need for the Government to build a Broadband Network...why double or triple the existing infrastructure???? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Equitist on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:50pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:46pm:
Err...ummnnn....in case you haven't noticed, market forces have somewhat predictably failed to deliver on 21st Century national telecommunications infrastructure! Hint: vast continent + small ubiquitous population = private sector diseconomies of scale Hence, Telecom/Telstra ought never have been hocked (in part or in whole) in the first instance! Unfortunately, Conservative minds are hopelessly dogmatic and under-equipped for forward lateral thinking - and they repeatedly fail to learn even the harshest history lessons... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:54pm Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 1:50pm:
Yes, and all that national infrastructure is wholly owned by a private sector company - Telstra..... Lots of things have been failed by market forces, but you don't see the Government leaping in to help out though..... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:03pm
Okay, I'll set a debate topic. Health.
But before that, The privatisation of Telstra. Privatisation of various industry's have proven time and time again that privatisation is not a good way to go. Prices rise, jobs are lost and services decline. On health. Tell me how phony Tony can possible improve health by cutting the GP super clinics and cutting more than 1 billion dollars from the health industry? They talk about improving the health industry. The thing that will improve it is more beds, more hospitals, more doctors, more nursers and more money for the health system. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:06pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:03pm:
Surprisingly james, Abbott's idea may actually improve health care and services at public hospitals. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:10pm
How can cutting money and cutting GP Super clinics improve it?
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:14pm
The biggest current problem with the Health service (in NSW at least) is the Greater Area system..
This is, basically, a bunch of bureaucrats sitting in a office somewhere and deciding what, and how much, to send to hospitals that they probably can't find on a map.... The system that Abbott is talking about seems to involve getting rid of them, and going back to local hospital boards, made up of the doctors, nurses and administrators who actually work in that particular hospital, being the ones who decide what THAT hospital needs, and allocating the money for it... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:17pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:10pm:
Well, I'm not sure about the GP Super clinics....but it occurs to me, that if the local public hospital is under staffed and underfunded....then there'd be no back up for the super clinics... And by removing most of the pen-pushers in the greater area health service office, then all the money that went to them for wages could be pumped straight into the actual hospital.... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:19pm Quote:
Be carefull James, nothing ever "SEEMS" as it is. Its a bit like "MIGHT" hey gizmo? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:23pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:06pm:
James what you fail to understand is he does NOT want to just cut the 'Super Clinics' and leave it at that, he wants to direct funding to more viable options like increasing after hour GP services and increase funding for more complex consults. Tell us James, what is the MAIN reason our emergency rooms are struggling to cope with demand? As for your second claim, The ALP's 'plan' will offer none of those things, it's a simple funding arrangement, nothing more. Lastly, WHO do you think is responsible for the hospitals James? :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:23pm
Lets see taking a billion out of the health system will improve it,really?
Where are your "facts " to back that up? Thats the most stupid thing I've seen you write yet, the sad thing is if Abbott said it ,you believe it. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:25pm skippy. wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:23pm:
WHO are you talking to Skippy? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:30pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:25pm:
He's talking to me iam.... He's still pissed because I pointed out that the Lucas Heights reactor doesn't cause cancer...... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:32pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:25pm:
Not you, when are you going to learn that everything is not about you? But you could try and answer if you can. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:32pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:30pm:
LOL, gee he ran away from that one with tail between his legs didn't he? What a clown. :D |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:30pm:
tell that to the kiddies with cancer ,moron. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:33pm skippy. wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:32pm:
Perhaps YOU should learn to use the 'quote' function MORON. Didi you have Uni today mate? LOL. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:32pm:
Not as quick as you when it was proven you were lying your little ass off. Gizmo is as big a failure as you are, the tard cant even read links or look for them himself. He's probably a non achiever like you living in boganworld. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:23pm:
Hahahaha. You have just contradicted your main argument. The emergency wards are struggling to cope with demand because shortage of staff. The GP Super Clinics will ease that pressure. The ALP has committed to building more hospitals and training more staff and placing more beds in wards. So yes they will provide this. The State government is responsible for health, however, Federal government can assist by implementing policy, like GP Super Clinics, training more doctors and nurses, building more hospitals etc. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:36pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm:
Hey Moz you moron, do YOU still think it will come in on budget? LOL. http://www.news.com.au/technology/network-will-be-10-times-faster-than-we-promised/story-e6frfro0-1225904296822 |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:37pm
Health is really a minefield & too broader topic, should be broken into sub topics.
Why are our emergency wards stretched to breaking point - because we have a lack of ward & intensive care beds - whose responsible State Governments. Why do we have a lack of ward & intensives care beds - because they are full of the elderly, why are they full of the elderly - because their are not enough high care nursing home beds - whose responsible for aged care the Federal government. And around it goes also health just swallows money the more you put in the more it wants. We could could put the whole countries GDP into health for a decade & still not have the services & outcomes we desire. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by skippy. on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:37pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm:
Did you notice they dont want to talk about how Abbott pulling a billion out of health will make it better as gimpo said, James. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:39pm skippy. wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm:
The links are posted dickhead, but because YOU ran away you didn't read them. FFS your a dense c_nt. LOL. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:39pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm:
No James, they're not...We've been trying for years to get a new hospital built in Wagga Wagga, and both the state and federal governments have just announced that they won't build a new hospital..and will only do a crappy, partial upgrade.... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:40pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:35pm:
See mate THAT comment is why YOU can't be taken seriously on this matter. Have ANOTHER go James. And while you there, show us the policy release from Labor about building more hospitals. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:42pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:39pm:
Hornsby is the same. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:43pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:39pm:
Really? I could have sworn they had committed to a new hospital. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:45pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:43pm:
Research is the key mate. http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/06/24/2936069.htm ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mozzaok on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:48pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:36pm:
NO I already said, I think it will come in under budget, and I explained why, and that is the opinion of industry specialists, not my own "personal" opinion, but that of the experts actually involved in rolling thic scheme out. Abbott is a buffoon, but he is nothing special if compared to your genius iam. The fibre optic system has already been proven capable of carrying far greater speeds, and far greater "load" than even the best copper systems could ever provide, and Abbott scoffing at the fact that 1 gigabyte could be delivered is yet more proof of his absolute ignorance in this area, as speeds over 4 times that have already been achieved. So they are talking about what can be commercially delivered, if they were talking about what could be theoretically delivered, in optimum only circumstances, they would have spoken of 400 times faster speeds than promised. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:48pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:45pm:
My apologies. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:50pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:48pm:
Jesus christ mate, go and do some research on Singapore, and educate yourself being coming back. FFS. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mozzaok on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:52pm
"Partial Upgrade"???
Well if Iam could get a partial upgrade at least those of us who suffer through some of his drivel could expect Some relief. ;D |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:54pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:52pm:
Yeah that was funny dipshit. Now go do some research you ignorant git. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:59pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:52pm:
Seconded:) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:02pm
But seriously, Has any Liberal supporters got anything of value to add to this debate for the coalition's policy?
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:06pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:02pm:
YOU havn't addressed my point yet james all you've done is rehash the same tired old bullshit. As for the $1 billion dollars YOU mentioned, perhaps YOU should do some reseacrh on NSW Metro and QLD Traveston, there's a $1 Billion YOU should be asking questions about. AND WHERE IS THE LINK I ASKED FOR? If YOU want to be taken seriously mate, at least look like you know what you're talking about. LOL. ::) http://www.liberal.org.au/Issues/Health.aspx |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:20pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:52pm:
Yes a 'Partial Upgrade'....Wagga became a 'base hospital' in 1938... The main building dates from around about 1960 (judging by the design and construction)..It's too small and too old to function properly, and several wards/floors have been closed due to dry-rot and termite damage..... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by mozzaok on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:24pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:54pm:
You are very close to getting another timeout with your non stop abusive tone iam. I appreciate you get worked up, but do try and curtail your use of nasty personal comments, and save them for say, your evil twin that votes Labor. ;D |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:25pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:02pm:
I can't say..I'm a fairly new liberal supporter, so I can only comment on the new policies... BUT, the Liberal Health policy 'seems' to be an improvement.... And just to keep skippy happy, it's based on the 'paper' policy..because, of course, there's no way to tell how the policies will work out, until after they are implemented..... But that applies to ANY political promise......look at the various election promises that have failed over the years |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:26pm mozzaok wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:24pm:
If YOU show some intelligence for once than I’ll tone it down, how does that sound mate? ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:56pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:26pm:
We could say the same about you. ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:10pm skippy. wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:33pm:
You mean the kiddies who have got cancer because of the EMR effect, from over-head power lines????? |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:17pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 3:56pm:
Now you see James you just fallen into the biggest trap in debating. You were proven wrong so you apologized Kudos for that but now you are stooping to personal attack. Even if it is in jest it shows poor form. Go & research a subject or policy & come back tomorrow & try again instead. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:27pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:17pm:
Ah. That's where you're wrong. I am not stooping to a personal attack. What I am saying is that all it is is opinion. Iam says that Mozza isn't showing intelligence, I am saying, we could say the same about him/her because we don't agree. That isn't personal attack. I do debate regularly and I know a thing or two. ;D |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:29pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:27pm:
Then YOU should also know YOU need to back up YOUR claims with FACTS. Take smithy’s advice, do some research and come back with something of substance. Oh and only issue a debate if YOU are going to be regularly involved in it, you have been coming and going that often that YOU miss responses and the claim nothing has been offered. Take the time to look back through a thread mate; it will save you embarrassment and abuse. ;) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by philperth2010 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:42pm
An Irish man once told me "Never argue with an idiot because on lookers cannot tell the difference"???
Enjoy :) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:43pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:27pm:
Questioning someones intelligence whilst not the worst thing is still a form of attack rather than debate. If you do debate regularly I would have expected a better more co-hearant youtube attempt,but maybe you were nervous it happens to the best of us. Have you seen my reply to you on that thread? These are things you must consider if you are to make it in politics, most of us here at this stage are supportive of you, Iam can be a lot harder & meaner than he has been probably for the same reasons I am trying to offer positive advice, you are young & having a go & I at least respect that. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:46pm philperth2010 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:42pm:
LOL the version I heard was "Never argue with an idiot, because they bring you down to their level..and beat you with experience.... |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:28pm iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 4:29pm:
Coming and going? Last time I checked it was a forum and that you can do other things while waiting for responses. It doesn't require you to be on 24 hours a day 7 days a week. As I have said, I have school work to catch up on as I have been sick this past week and I have the School Certificate to study for. So I would have thought that that is more important than a debate. I have been here regularly. Cut me some slack. I have a busy life outside this forum. A life that some on here are lucky not to have because you wouldn't be able to cope. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by iamtheman012 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:38pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:28pm:
In future, READ what has been posted ALREADY before making stupid statements then James. And I wasn't saying you don't have OTHER things to mate, so DON'T judge what OTHERS do and don't do mate. F_ck you're a SLOW learner James, but keep trying. Come back when YOU have something to actually offer. ::) |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:40pm James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:28pm:
Yeah I do understand James..I have a life outside these froums too... However, the idea is the same....I live in Southern NSW...(in Cootamundra....and NO i don't care if anyone knows where I live) the Greater Southern Area Health Service is based in QUEANBEYAN NSW 2620 That's like 300klm away.. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:42pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:40pm:
Don't mind me...just seeing how big and confusing these quote boxes can get. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:40pm
This is possibly the worst 'debate' I have ever read.
Though the personal attacks are quite funny. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:43pm
By the way, 15 years old and doing political broadcasts?!
bugger me mate, whatever happened to chasing girls and playing sport! When I was 15, I think it was John Major who won the election that year but I was too busy doing the above things to notice. Well it was more playing sport than the chasing of girls anyway. Girls at my school were too pretentious. Anywhere get out there lad and worry about politics in a decade. |
Title: Re: Debate. Post by James Bluntus on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:09pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:43pm:
I'll be right thanks. I find time for those things as well. ::) |