General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Where mud sticks: election spin, slogans & shy
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1279437237

Message started by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:13pm

Title: Where mud sticks: election spin, slogans & shy
Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:13pm

Just for fun, I reckon that we should make a collection, of idotic electioneering statements by our most despised and beloved pollies...

Title: Re: Where mud sticks: election spin, slogans & shy
Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:18pm

I, for one, reckon that someone should tell Action Man Abbo that mud always sticks to the hand that throws it...

I just hope that they'll wait until after he totally trashes the Libs' election chances...

Here's just a few from a single article: -

"Only a Coalition Government can end the spin and incompetence which marked the Rudd-Gillard government"

"Why should people trust Labor's 2010 promises when you couldn't trust their 2007 promises."

"Why should people trust Julia Gillard, when even Kevin Rudd couldn't"

"Why should people trust a Prime Minister who can't guarantee a full term because she can't be sure that the factions would let her?"

"I expect this to be a filthy campaign from the Labor Party"

Source: http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/07/17/2956607.htm

Dunno what he's grasping at - but he clearly has a poor grasp on both irony and political reality...

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:41pm

Then there's that entertaining ol' woman, Joyce: -

Coalition frontbencher Barnaby Joyce says he will attack Julia Gillard's policies but not her private life.

[quote]"I'm not going to go chasing her around the bedroom or digging up dirt on her and that's when campaigns get dirty"
[/quote]

Mr Joyce also says Labor's campaign slogan 'moving forward will eventually backfire.

[quote]"She said 'moving forward' that many times, she started sounding shifty"

"She was moving everywhere. We have just got to get away from this idea that these lines that you get and you start plugging out there ad nauseam, they just drive people spare."

[/quote]
Source: http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/07/18/2956836.htm

Dunno what he's grasping at either - but he's obviously down there with Abbott...

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:44pm

I haven't found anything especially amusing in the Lab campaign yet - but I'm sure that many of you right whingers will be listening intently...

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:50pm
Meantime, I love this poignant cartoon: -

...which accompanied this article: -

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/politics/a-fight-to-the-finish-20100717-10f2a.html

A fight to the finish

July 18, 2010

Sometimes there is a flicker of meaning behind the emptiest election slogan.

ELECTION campaign slogans are a bit like tacky abstract art: if you stare long and hard enough, sometimes you see flickers of meaning, intentional or not.

If Julia Gillard's ''moving forward'' and Tony Abbott's ''real action'' catchphrases were pieces of art, they'd probably be hanging on the wall of a fast-food outlet. They're that bad.

''Moving forward'' sounds a bit like ''going forward'', a piece of management jargon which regularly ends up on lists of ''10 annoying phases to avoid using''. And ''real action''? What other type of action is there?

Both phrases are no doubt the result of hours of focus group research that has been carefully boiled down by strategists, refined by pollsters and distilled by PR people. The hope is that we are all so brainwashed by the elixir that at the end of the campaign we wander to the polls like a pack of zombies and tick the correct box.

It would be easy to dismiss it all as meaningless. Yet, when you think about it - stare too hard - both phrases reveal much about the defensive and offensive strategies of each team, and the strengths and weaknesses of each leader.

Take Gillard's ''moving forward''. First, implicit is an instruction to forget about the old prime minister (what was his name again?) and embrace the new. Get over it and move on, the phrase seems to say. The juggernaut rolls on.

The process of air-brushing recent history is a necessary one for the Labor Party collectively and for Gillard personally, who is struggling to manage perceptions she knifed a popularly elected prime minister to further her own political ambitions.

The hope for Gillard is that if she keeps telling us to move on while refusing to talk about private conversations that took place on ''that night'', the issue will simply go away. Problem is, many members of the public feel she owes them a decent explanation.

Second, by using the phrase Gillard is placing herself in the centre of the political spectrum. By claiming to be ''moving forward'', she is implicitly telling us she is moving neither to the left nor the right. It's a subtle pitch to the so-called ''Howard battlers'' living in marginal electorates from a prime minister with left-faction origins who has been reshaping herself as a middle-ground leader with fundamentally conservative values.

Third, the phrase implies action and movement, rather than equivocation. This, in turn, is a response to perceptions that Rudd was a ''do nothing'', ''blah-blah'' leader unable to translate his rhetoric into action, let alone string together a clear sentence.

Gillard, as the opposition keeps reminding us, was in fact intimately involved with many of Labor's policy failings when Rudd was leader. The dilemma is that she cannot claim credit for the Rudd government's successes without accepting some of the responsibility for its failings. She is now telling us that she is getting on with the job of being a decisive and competent leader.

Fourth, going forward implies economic progress. It is an aspirational phrase reminiscent of Mark Latham's ''ladder of opportunity''. Presenting as a safe pair of hands to manage the economy is widely regarded as an essential ingredient in any successful modern election campaign.

Yet economics still represents a major weakness for Gillard, with published opinion polls suggesting Labor is once again trailing the Coalition in this area. Gillard attempted to address this problem is a speech last week titled ''Moving Forward to a Strong and Fairer Economy'', with promises to offset all new election spending with savings so as to not erode the surplus. The speech was pedestrian and, anyway, the message was derailed by questions about whether she reneged on a leadership deal with Rudd.

Fifth, ''moving forward'' is designed to highlight the idea that the Coalition's values are rooted in the past, while Labor is looking to the future. Labor will be doing much to portray Tony Abbott and his colleagues as retrogressive dinosaurs, climate-change deniers and wedded to policies of the Howard government such as WorkChoices. Labor, in contrast, wants to portray itself as modern, tech-savvy, progressive, fresh and energetic.

But what of Tony Abbott's ''real action'' phrase?

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 5:56pm

But what of Tony Abbott's ''real action'' phrase? The slogan was first road-tested in a Liberal campaign advertisement when Rudd was still prime minister. It featured Abbott promising to take ''real action'' to stop illegal immigration, with a map of Australia with incoming red arrows from Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Indonesia.

The idea was to show Kevin Rudd as a prime minister unable to deliver on his own rhetoric, in contrast to Abbott and the Coalition, depicted as straightforward, tough and decisive. This plays on the idea that Australians above all want their leaders to be competent at delivering services and managing the economy.

This will be much more difficult now that Gillard is leading the Labor Party. In contrast to Rudd, Gillard is an excellent communicator and a consensus leader with top-notch people skills.

Another big problem for Abbott is his past rhetoric. The worry for Liberal strategists is that his comments on issues such as abortion and climate change could place doubts in the minds of many voters, particularly women.

There were also, of course, his now infamous comments that only his carefully scripted, prepared remarks should be taken as gospel truth.

''Real action'' is an attempt to dispel some of these concerns by reminding us that it is ultimately actions that count, not words. ''Don't worry,'' it says, ''Abbott may say some strange things at times, but we are competent. Just look at our record of economic management and border protection during the Howard years.''

Voters will ultimately make a judgment about which party to vote for by weighing up two concepts that underpin many decisions in the financial world: risk and potential return. The coffers have been bled dry by the global financial crisis. That leaves less room for a bidding war of election bribes. Get ready for a torrent of negativity.

Josh Gordon is The Sunday Age’s  national political reporter.

Source: The Age

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:02pm
||"Why should people trust Labor's 2010 promises when you couldn't trust their 2007 promises."||

why is that a silly statement? even a partisan labor supporter would accept that promises were not kept after the alst election.

Post by froggie on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:20pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:02pm:
||"Why should people trust Labor's 2010 promises when you couldn't trust their 2007 promises."||

why is that a silly statement? even a partisan labor supporter would accept that promises were not kept after the alst election.

How about this one then, lwe??

Abbott on tonight's news.....

"Interest rates will always be lower under a coalition government."

:-?

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:20pm

Err...ummnnn....clearly, you do not see the irony, of a Lib campaigning on a platform of "trust" - much less an Howardian Era Lib doing so!?

Did you get the irony, of Abbott using his speech to continue his ironic 'spin' about Lab 'spin'!?

Post by froggie on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:22pm
Good evening, thy..... :)

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:24pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:20pm:

if we added the phrase 'excepting under unprecedented worldwide financial chaos' then the statement is undeniably true.

or are you one of those irrational labor supporters who believe that intrest rateas peaked under Howard rather than Keating?

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:25pm

LOL...that is classic Lib voodoo economics spin, which unwittingly points to greater economic recessions under the policies of any coalition govt!

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:27pm

Equitist wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:25pm:

LOL...that is classic Lib voodoo economics spin, which unwittingly points to greater economic recessions under the policies any coalition govt!

You can be quite irrational nemesis. you dont honestly expect anyone to believe what you just posted as being even close to anythign truthful? or are you going to blame the 1990s recession on the liberals who hadnt been in power for 7 years?

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:41pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:27pm:

LOL...that is classic Lib voodoo economics spin, which unwittingly points to greater economic recessions under the policies any coalition govt!

You can be quite irrational nemesis. you dont honestly expect anyone to believe what you just posted as being even close to anythign truthful? or are you going to blame the 1990s recession on the liberals who hadnt been in power for 7 years?

Think a little longer and harder Longy...

Hint: does the RBA reduce interest rates when the economy is booming, or when it is tanking!?

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:47pm

Equitist wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:41pm:

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:27pm:

Think a little longer and harder Longy...

Hint: does the RBA reduce interest rates when the economy is booming, or when it is tanking!?

Try and work out that the relationship is neither linear or absolute. The RBA lowered rates in 2005/6 to record lows while the economy was indisputably at its historical BEST. interest rates are not just dependant on economic growth but also inflation. they two are NOT related one-to-one. it is possible to have a high growth low infaltion economy with low interest rates as Howard did. Low interest rates can also be used as a stimulus to avoid recession such as in 2008/9. terms such as 'tanking' are far to broad to be used to an economy especially in the context of interest rates. I know you dont like it but your simplistic vies are unhelpful and u you them disingenuously.

Post by froggie on Jul 18th, 2010 at 7:26pm
if we added the phrase 'excepting under unprecedented worldwide financial chaos' then the statement is undeniably true."

by lwe.
----
But, he didn't...

Post by mellie on Jul 18th, 2010 at 7:33pm

Essentially, Labor are asking for another three years to make up for the last 3.

I'm going to give Tony a go.

8-)

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 7:34pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 7:26pm:
if we added the phrase 'excepting under unprecedented worldwide financial chaos' then the statement is undeniably true."

by lwe.
----
But, he didn't...

well with the SINGLE exception of the GFC, it remains an indisputable fact. getting low rates ONCE and requiring a near worldwide dpression to acheive is hardly something to get excited by. let';s see them get record low rates AND a booming economy all at the same time as Howard did.

Post by vegitamite on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:14pm
Hey, Ive got some NEW slogans pinched from another site...

Keep Australia Pest-free--------------
-------HELP BUILD THE ABBOTT-PROOF FENCE

"Cremate AbbottChoices”.
Or

“Avoid Bad Abbotts – vote Labor

[smiley=laugh.gif]

Post by Marxist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:39pm

I could not believe I heard him say this, makes you wonder why people would trust Tont Abbott when clearly Mal Turnbull couldn't.

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:41pm

Marxist wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:39pm:

I could not believe I heard him say this, makes you wonder why people would trust Tont Abbott when clearly Mal Turnbull couldn't.

Youarent going to seriously compare the knifing of a popular PM to the change of an unpopular OPPOSITION leader??

yes, you probably wuld!

Post by Marxist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:55pm

Youarent going to seriously compare the knifing of a popular PM to the change of an unpopular OPPOSITION leader??

yes, you probably wuld!

The point is you dont throw mud at someone for doing the same thing you have done yourself.

Isnt that called hypocracy.

Post by longweekend58 on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:57pm

Marxist wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:55pm:

yes, you probably wuld!

The point is you dont throw mud at someone for doing the same thing you have done yourself.

it woudl be if it WAS the same thing. But it wasnt. the position of PM is lightyears more important than opposition leader and it is a position that is defacto chosen by teh voters. it was a serious breach of trust.

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 9:17pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:57pm:

Marxist wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 8:55pm:

yes, you probably wuld!

it woudl be if it WAS the same thing. But it wasnt. the position of PM is lightyears more important than opposition leader and it is a position that is defacto chosen by teh voters. it was a serious breach of trust.

Bollox! As per usual, the majority of the electorate voted for a party - in this case for Labor because the other major party was very much on the nose!

Besides, at the last election, it was clear to the electorate that Howard would not continue leading the party for long - regardless of whether or not his party lost...

That said, the Libs remain out of touch and on the nose - not least because they have blown the trust of much of the electorate by giving a divisive bigot like Abbott the head job...

The electorate will vote accordingly!

Meantime, Rudd was axed from within because he was not a team player - a point which most right whingers were at pains to point out, at every opportunity, and right up until the moment of his demise...

Again, the electorate will vote accordingly!

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 9:28pm

PS Of the small proportion of the electorate who are 'swinging voters' - what proportion of them would prefer: -

1. Rudd over Gillard?

2. Abbott over Gillard?

I'm guessing that, the correct answer to both questions would be 'very few'!

Post by Three.Equal.lists on Jul 18th, 2010 at 9:32pm
small proportion?!
It's around 10 to 15% of the electorate by the look of it in past elections.
I'm a swinging voter and I'd prefer Abbott over Rudd or Gillard.
Doesn't necessarily mean I'll vote for him though.

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 18th, 2010 at 9:54pm

Crikey, I just saw the Libs' latest election ad...

Dunno if I was more struck by its petty divisiveness or its lameness - or the inherent contradiction between the two!?

I doubt that the boring soundtrack would cause anybody to 'stand up' - unless they felt compelled to take the action of finding something to toss in the direction of the idiot box...

For anyone who hasn't seen it, check it and other Lib propaganda out over here: -

http://www.liberal.org.au/Liberal-TV.aspx

What were their marketeers thinking!?

Post by Annie Anthrax on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:09am
Thy, both the Labor and Liberal election ads are cheese. Gillard looks stiff - I thought she did much better on 60 Minutes last night than in the ad.

Post by skippy. on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:18am

what a load of bullsh1t.
The party choose the leader always have, the party dumped Menzies when PM, the party dumped Gorton when PM, the party chose McMahon without going to the people, the party chose Holt without going to the people, you notice anything yet? all conservative PMs, hypocrites.

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:21am

Annie Anthrax wrote on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:09am:
Thy, both the Labor and Liberal election ads are cheese. Gillard looks stiff - I thought she did much better on 60 Minutes last night than in the ad.

Thankfully, Annie, I have to take your word for that - as I haven't had the misfortune of seeing any of the Lab ads - yet...

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:25am

skippy. wrote on Jul 19th, 2010 at 10:18am:

what a load of bullsh1t.
The party choose the leader always have, the party dumped Menzies when PM, the party dumped Gorton when PM, the party chose McMahon without going to the people, the party chose Holt without going to the people, you notice anything yet? all conservative PMs, hypocrites.

Methinks that the Libs are spitting sour grapes - because they didn't stand up to that electorally-toxic old goat JWH before the 2007 election...

Not that it would have necessarily done them much good, since the whole rabid rabble was on the nose with the electorate anyway - but they are peeved because they'll never really know for sure, whether Costello was their saviour...

Post by billy the fish on Jul 19th, 2010 at 3:39pm

longweekend58 wrote on Jul 18th, 2010 at 6:24pm:

if we added the phrase 'excepting under unprecedented worldwide financial chaos' then the statement is undeniably true.

or are you one of those irrational labor supporters who believe that intrest rateas peaked under Howard rather than Keating?

WE have been over all this before on yahoo,you got caught out lying when it has been proven time and time again interest rates were always higher under LIBERAL when Howard got thrown out the  first time they were 21 percent,and when he got thrown out the second time interest rates were spiraling out of control ::)

Post by Verge on Jul 19th, 2010 at 3:46pm
Well is appears the term 'moving forward' is the new spin of the ALP, 24 times to be exact in the first speech.

Gee, nice to know she wants to move forward, would never have guessed it for ourselves.  We need to move forward to pay off the spiralling debt Gillard has given us with the billions WASTED under the BER.

Post by perceptions_now on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:21am

Verge wrote on Jul 19th, 2010 at 3:46pm:
Well is appears the term 'moving forward' is the new spin of the ALP, 24 times to be exact in the first speech.

Gee, nice to know she wants to move forward, would never have guessed it for ourselves.  We need to move forward to pay off the spiralling debt Gillard has given us with the billions WASTED under the BER.

Gee, 1 day and already 36 posts, that's VergeN on Macca-esk proportions?

Post by Verge on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:33am

perceptions_now wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:21am:

Hardly, I came on late last night, it equates to about three an hour.

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:38am

Libs who incessantly dribble 'A great big piss on everything' should not have glass toilet doors...

Post by Verge on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:40am

Equitist wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:38am:

Libs who incessantly dribble 'A great big piss on everything' should not have glass toilet doors...

24 times in a single speech, its insulting to the intelligence of the public.

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:44am

Verge wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:40am:

LOL...partisans who watch news and current affairs programs should assume that other people do too - and should therefore be careful not to just parrot the propaganda of pollies...

Post by Thy.Equitist on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:48am

Similarly: pollies, who habitually trade in quips and slogans, ought not pettily use same to highlight the spin of fellow pollies...

Post by Verge on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:48am

Equitist wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:44am:

Verge wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:40am:

LOL...partisans who watch news and current affairs programs should assume that other people do too - and be careful not to just parrot the propaganda of pollies...

Im not parroting anyone, I tried to watch that speech and had to turn it off, I became infuriated with her speech.  I found it insulting the way she went out of her way to dumb it down and her 'moving forward' was as big of an insult if Ive ever seen one, what, does she expect us to think they wont even try?

Thats why I made a mention of this speech thy.  24 times is just plain stupidity.

Post by perceptions_now on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:10pm

Verge wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 11:33am:

Making up for lost time? Macca?

Post by Verge on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:12pm

perceptions_now wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:10pm:

Im hardly macca perceptions, do you see me posting 45 threads a day?

Post by perceptions_now on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:59pm

Verge wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:12pm:

Let me see, 3 an hour x 24 hours a day = 72 posts
Hmmm?

Well, if not, are you a very close relative?

Post by Verge on Jul 20th, 2010 at 1:04pm

perceptions_now wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:59pm:

Hmmm?

You dont sleep? Go to the gym? Cook tea?

Bascially Im fairly bored at work at the moment, and I dont have my usual outlet of the yahoo boards.

Im also not a blind follower like Macca.

Post by perceptions_now on Jul 20th, 2010 at 1:57pm

Verge wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 1:04pm:

perceptions_now wrote on Jul 20th, 2010 at 12:59pm:

Hmmm?

[quote]
Verge
You dont sleep? Go to the gym? Cook tea?

Bascially Im fairly bored at work at the moment, and I dont have my usual outlet of the yahoo boards.

Im also not a blind follower like Macca.

Do you mean, you actually use both eyes, not just the RIGHT one?

Well, that does it, you can't be Macca?

Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 20th, 2010 at 2:49pm
702 Drive’s
Election Lingo Bingo

Rules:
We want to record the first time any candidate uses one of these phrases – send us the detail of what was said, who said it, and where you heard it or read it, and we’ll do our best to confirm the ‘sighting’. Email as soon as you hear each phrase to:

richardglover@your.abc.net.au

The aim is to see how long it will take us – collectively – to tick off all the words in the form.

Working families
Irresponsible spending
Work to be done
Fully costed by Treasury
At the end of the day
Addicted to spending
Moving forward
May I just say….
Dodgy figures
Fear tactics
No silver bullet
Securing our borders
UnAustralian
Fiscal Conservative
Having said that, let me say this
Biggest spending, highest taxing
Fully funded
Great big
Factional warlords
Hard-working Australians
I make no apologies for….
Slugged
Backflip
In the fullness of time
Swamped
The reality is….
The Australian people
Let the cat out of the bag
Muck raking
Ordinary Australians

http://blogs.abc.net.au/nsw/2010/07/play-election-lingo-bingo.html?site=sydney&program=702_drive

Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 20th, 2010 at 3:04pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNCZw4MTzB0

Just for fun