Title: Tony Abbott
Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 1st, 2009 at 12:54pm

Is this Tony Abbott a few years ago ???

Title: Re: Tony Abbott
Post by helian on Dec 1st, 2009 at 1:00pm
You're getting a bit homoerotic there, Sprint. ;D

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 1st, 2009 at 2:03pm
is this kevin rudd in a few years time ???

Post by helian on Dec 1st, 2009 at 4:24pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 1st, 2009 at 2:03pm:
is this kevin rudd in a few years time ???

More like this, they reckon....

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:03am

Tony Abbott is the real deal.

Some reporter asked him about the next election. He said it'll be a real fight.
He said the Libs get no backing from big business, big business does deals with Labour.
Libs will have to rely on ground swell and their foot soldiers.

There is a LOT of truth to that. If labor were true to their basic ideas I'ld probably vote for them.
It has been decades since labor has been for the worker.

Post by mozzaok on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:48am
I agree Sprint, it is supremely frustrating that we have no political party we can really identify with as one that truly reflects the ideals, and aspirations, of the average aussie.
The average bloke is either a small business tradie, or a payg taxpayer, with a couple of cars, a mortgage, and a wife and two kids to support.

He wants to see good universal health cover, a fair social security system, where those unable to work, and those whose working life is over, are looked after properly.
He wants good schools, and a safe community for his family to live in.

He wants a tax system that is fair, and without punitive rates for those who wish to work harder, and longer, to then be over taxed because of it.

He wants to see his society protected, and to stop seeing money wasted on politically correct nonsense, like the indigenous lesbian dwarf tapdancing academy scholarship fund, but he does instead want real social issues that address equality and fairness supported.

He wants to see special interest groups stop being allowed to demand and receive special treatment because they happen to be able to organise lobby groups that seek disproportional allowances be made for them.

He doesn't care if you are atheist, hindu, muslim, jew, or christian, so long as you are foremost, aussie, and are willing to keep your spiritual hopes, and your secular responsibilities and desires separate.

He recognises that big business needs to be allowed an environment free enough to prosper, but still bound by legal and ethical constraints, that governments need to enforce.

He wants to see the environment protected, so his kids, and grandkids, and even the grandkid's, grandkids, can inherit a world that is in as good a shape as we can pass on to them.

He just wants a fair go.

Any ideas which party could best offer that?
lol, me neither. :(

If we could get the best of each party, and just pick what we like from each, we could probably manage it.
So I may vote for the LABORnGREENnDEMOCRATnNATIONALnLIBERAL Party.
It is a pity they cannot work together a little better, we could all be so much better off for it.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 7:52pm

Onya Mozzaok.
You're the only poster to have the guts to talk about Tony.
Tony's thrashed ruddy on their first face up.

Rhodes Scholar, Aussie Surf life saver, cyclist, pugilist, Budgie smuggler wearer.
i know boxers, very good opponents.

Post by soren on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 8:08pm

mozzaok wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:48am:
I agree Sprint, it is supremely frustrating that we have no political party we can really identify with as one that truly reflects the ideals, and aspirations, of the average aussie.
The average bloke is either a small business tradie, or a payg taxpayer, with a couple of cars, a mortgage, and a wife and two kids to support.

He wants to see good universal health cover, a fair social security system, where those unable to work, and those whose working life is over, are looked after properly.
He wants good schools, and a safe community for his family to live in.

He wants a tax system that is fair, and without punitive rates for those who wish to work harder, and longer, to then be over taxed because of it.

He wants to see his society protected, and to stop seeing money wasted on politically correct nonsense, like the indigenous lesbian dwarf tapdancing academy scholarship fund, but he does instead want real social issues that address equality and fairness supported.

He wants to see special interest groups stop being allowed to demand and receive special treatment because they happen to be able to organise lobby groups that seek disproportional allowances be made for them.

He doesn't care if you are atheist, hindu, muslim, jew, or christian, so long as you are foremost, aussie, and are willing to keep your spiritual hopes, and your secular responsibilities and desires separate.

He recognises that big business needs to be allowed an environment free enough to prosper, but still bound by legal and ethical constraints, that governments need to enforce.

He wants to see the environment protected, so his kids, and grandkids, and even the grandkid's, grandkids, can inherit a world that is in as good a shape as we can pass on to them.

He just wants a fair go.

Any ideas which party could best offer that?
lol, me neither. :(

If we could get the best of each party, and just pick what we like from each, we could probably manage it.
So I may vote for the LABORnGREENnDEMOCRATnNATIONALnLIBERAL Party.
It is a pity they cannot work together a little better, we could all be so much better off for it.

he, he, he, always he...  What does the little lady want?

And the little lady's GLBTQ brother/sister? and their Indian cousin-by-marriage? and the Sri Lankan refugees? And the palestinian/iranian/iraqi/lebanese/australian refugees with legitimate ummah aspirations (non-violent, of course)?

Who's looking after them, MATE?!? Have you asked them what they want, mate??

You talk like it was your country, mate!

;) ;)

Post by Amadd on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 8:34pm
Is this a political interlude?

Costello retired, Turnbull gone, but you wouldn't even know it if you relied on this forum for political news.
Maybe it' just a sign that the Libs aren't seen as being any chance to take government in the near future - not while Labor is as right winged as they are anyway.
We could do with a new left wing party to vote for.

Post by soren on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 9:04pm
Au contraire.

it is high time for some greater polarity, sharper contrast.

howard was keating-lite, rudd howard-lite. can't have any more lightweight than Rudd. Turnbull tried it, look what happened.
What was he difefrence between Rudd and Turnbull?
Rudd and Hockey?

The mood for pussies is over. Look at Obama -  a lightwight. He is so inlusive, he doesn't know how to be an American President. To him everything is community outreach -bowing to the King of Araby, the Emperor of Japan - it's all community organising.

NZ had enough of Clarke. Blair is gone, Brown soon to follow. Canada, with a conservative government in the Howard mould,  is now the most odius nation for the likes of Monbiot. That must be an encouraging sign.

All of a suddent the Left is the old, fuddy-duddy, stuck in the past side of politics.

Post by Amadd on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:02pm

it is high time for some greater polarity, sharper contrast

Exactly, it's no secret that we don't have a real left wing party to vote for anymore. I don't count the greens as being an alternative because their focus should stay as is.

Labor has moved to right and has made the liberals almost obsolete. Maybe this is just a natural progression of political teachings, but my cynical side says that a one party nation is a dictatorship. Even the unions (the basis of the Labor party) are under the thumb of a right winged system.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:24pm

The true right wing basis is :

"The customer is always right"

Anyone who has ever ran a small business knows this. This is THE basis of every business.
It's the pure mathematical ecomonic fact.

Abbott knows this basic fact.

ETS is a crock of poo, everyone knows that.
kyoto, grocery watch, fuel watch, ruddbank, stimulus packages, educaton revolution revolution are all failed crocks of poo.

Everyone knows it.
"The customers always right"

Post by soren on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:34pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:24pm:
The true right wing basis is :

Anyone who has ever ran a small business knows this. This is THE basis of every business.
It's the pure mathematical ecomonic fact.

Abbott knows this basic fact.

ETS is a crock of poo, everyone knows that.
kyoto, grocery watch, fuel watch, ruddbank, stimulus packages, educaton revolution revolution are all failed crocks of poo.

Everyone knows it.
"The customers always right"

Not quite.
the true basis of conservative politics is individual liberty and responsibility. Conservatism is not about business or labour.

Social conservatism is more akin to environmental conervationism. It is about th preservation of what is worth keeping. In the case of social conservatism, in the end it is always individual liberty and responsibility. No business, no customer will trump that.

Post by Amadd on Dec 4th, 2009 at 12:01am

Let's take a cae in point of the customer always being right.

Do you think that the customer agrees that the banks should be able to skimp on interest rate cuts when the reserve bank lowers them, and then raise them further than the official reserve bank interest rate rise?

I'm sure that the customer disagrees with this, and rightfully so.
But what can they (we) do about it?
Can we demand to be paid in cash as should be our natural right?
Who would ever get a job these days if they demanded to be paid in cash?

The simplistic buyer seller (market will dictate terms) approach is all well and good in fantasy land, but how about the reality that people are greedy and they will use any means available to exploit their fellow man?
There is nothing surer besides death and taxes that if you leave yourself open to exploitation, then you will be exploited.

Forget trust and fairness, you have to fight every step of the way for a fair deal.
We've become such the apathetic herd of cattle that we wouldn't even know how to fight for a fair deal anymore. So I suppose we get what we deserve. Yay banks.

And what, pray tell, will Abbott do to instill a fairer system? Nothing. He'll make it even worse.
It's all about taking rights away, not conserving freedoms (which was once a worthwhile cause don't you think Soren?).

Forget the "basis" of any political party. That exists only in the imagination.
The real objective is to gain control without causing a revolution, because the wise know that revolutions  cause a huge stumbling block to the ultimate objective of total control.
Everybody wants to rule the world. That's the real basis of any party.

That's my rant  ;D

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 4th, 2009 at 6:53am

amadd - excellent rant there too !!!!!!!!!

Post by helian on Dec 4th, 2009 at 8:24am
We get the politicians we deserve.

If the nation truly wanted a working class party, instead of having an obsession with middle-class pretensions, then our society would respond by producing one.

To imagine any other is to cast ourselves as hapless victims of uncontrollable circumstance.

flt nt strs bt slvs.

Post by djrbfm on Dec 5th, 2009 at 10:13pm
what it will take is that ALL Australians put a "no confidence" vote in for both Libs and Labs.
simply show them we do not want them "representing" us any longer.
the old adage: what if someone called a election and no-one came?

what we are really electing here, each 3 years or so, is which form of police force is going to boss us around.
btw, i really believe that police officers should not carry deadly weapons.
this should be a division of the army used domestically, and not our cops.

anyway, as soon as i can i'm leaving Australia, as i believe this excuse for a nation can only get worse in the immediate years to come.
don't want to spend my remaining good years in what Australia will devolve into.
djrbfm.

Post by Amadd on Dec 6th, 2009 at 1:07am

If the nation truly wanted a working class party, instead of having an obsession with middle-class pretensions, then our society would respond by producing one.

To imagine any other is to cast ourselves as hapless victims of uncontrollable circumstance.

I agree with that to a certain extent Helian, and to an extent I also think that we're that victim of circumstance...or victim of the human condition for the want of total control.

To dig out a phrase that I've used ad nauseum, "Like a pot of slowly boiling frogs that don't know when to jump out of the pot". Meaning that if you throw a frog into a pt of boiling water, it will immediately jump out. But if you turn up the heat slowly, it will sit there peacefully and boil to death.
I've never tried that experiment personally and never intend to, but it's the constant incremental changes in our society that I see as being analogous to that theory. And the escalating rate in which they are ocurring is a real concern.

If you were to back-peddle 30yrs or so and look into the future to our present political system, you'd probably come to the conclusion that we have two major right winged parties, one slightly less right winged than the other. Very similar to how the U.S. political system was perceived back then.
Maybe it's just a natural progression of what people want, but the Howard government fear mongering during the last election of a return to the bad old BLF days didn't turn too many people off voting for Labor. And if people weren't scared of it, then did they get what they voted for?

I've never been able to find the exact amount of legislative changes the Howard government put through the senate, but I do know that the figure is huge. By far the largest in Australia's history.

The formula seems quite simple.The media sells the drama, closely followed by new laws and fines..and therefore more control for the government....even though they barely manage for us any of our assets anymore. They've about sold the lot of our stuff, but they want (usurp) more control and more money. Who thu fukc are they to be in existence only to dictate laws and take money?

Every new law is an investment in control. The latest I was just reading in a media poll "Do you think that dog-walking should be mandatory?"
There you go, there's another easy control cow. Simply use the unconstitutional councils to enforce a dog-walking law and take money at their discression.
So how about something that people really care about, like a mandatory law for the banks to stop profiteering from the people?

It's little wonder that people like djrbfm want to get tha hell out of this country, I've felt exactly the same on many ocassions. Especially when you look at the lifestyle of other nations.
Sure there's less certainty of safety, but I haven't wanted a nanny for many a year, and I actually pay money here for the right to put myself at personal risk.
If you want to get out of this country djrbfm, then I'm sure that there will be an exit fine to make it less attractive.

Post by mantra on Dec 6th, 2009 at 7:51am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 7:52pm:
Onya Mozzaok.

Rhodes Scholar, Aussie Surf life saver, cyclist, pugilist, Budgie smuggler wearer.

That's all Abbott is - fitness fanatic, headkicker and a puppet with his strings being pulled by Howard.

Do we really want to go back to the dark old days of Howard? Rudd admittedly isn't much better - but he isn't as scary as Howard. Abbott on his own without Howard being the puppetmaster wouldn't have a hope in hell of winning the next election. Howard is back in his element though and will fulfill his ambitions through Abbott.

We've got to remember why we voted this megalomanic out.

Former Prime Minister John Howard says he is pleased his friend and former minister Tony Abbott has taken leadership of the Liberal Party and says he will assist Mr Abbott in any way he can.

Mr Howard says the new Opposition Leader's intellect, energy and strong attitudes are to be applauded.

"Tony is a close friend of mine. He's a person who has enormous intellect, he has great vigour, he's got enormous energy and he has very, very strong attitudes and I respect that in him and I will do everything I can to assist him," he said.

It was a night of celebration for the Liberal party faithful.

The latest Howard biography was in hardback and the party had a new leader from its conservative base.

John Howard spoke in Sydney last night at a book launch of The Howard Era - a collection of essays and stories - a biography written largely by his former staff members.

He thanked all 21 authors who had penned a chapter, including the party's latest leader.

"One of the other contributors, of course, is now the leader of Her Majesty's loyal opposition and that is Tony Abbott," he said.

"And can I say, without in any way reflecting upon the contributions of either Brendan Nelson or Malcolm Turnbull, both of whom were cabinet ministers in my government and both of whom in their different ways brought enormous strength to that government and made huge contributions to the Liberal Party in a difficult time immediately after a defeat, I want to say how much I warm to Tony."

Quadrant, a conservative intellectual journal, was behind the launch of The Howard Era at the Union Club in Sydney's CBD.

The former member for Bennelong took questions from a crowd of supporters on a number of policy issues.

He says he would have had a far different approach to dealing with the global financial crisis.

Mr Howard also expressed why he though the former Liberal Party leader, Malcolm Turnbull, had lost the republican campaign.

"Those who wanted a republic had the insufferable conceit of arguing that in some way you were a better Australian if you were a republican, than if you were a monarchist," he said.

"And the idea that there was a hierarchy of national passion according to whether you believed in a republic or you didn't, I found that quite offensive."

He says it is now time for him to read the collection.

"I will read the book with enormous interest. I want to thank all of those who've made their contributions; I do that in advance of reading everything that they have written," he said.

Mr Howard has spent most of this year writing his own version of events. His autobiography is due to be released late next year.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 6th, 2009 at 11:08am

tony's a boxer
boxers do not have strings pulled by anyone.
look at how he talks to the flabby one

........the Prime Minister is being forced to defend his emissions trading scheme from Tony Abbott's attack that it's just a "great bloody big new tax" and that "direct government action" could deliver emissions reductions at a lower price........

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/rudds-copenhagen-dash/story-e6frg6xf-1225807144519

that's an opposition

Post by soren on Dec 6th, 2009 at 12:04pm

"Those who wanted a republic had the insufferable conceit of arguing that in some way you were a better Australian if you were a republican, than if you were a monarchist," he said.

"And the idea that there was a hierarchy of national passion according to whether you believed in a republic or you didn't, I found that quite offensive."

There is a very important insight in that. Rudd wings the 'denialist club with the same insufferable conceit as Turnbull did the Reublican one.

It's great to learn that Howard is to the Lberals that Obeid and Tripodi are to NSW Labor.

Post by Senexx on Dec 6th, 2009 at 3:54pm

Soren wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 9:04pm:
Au contraire.

it is high time for some greater polarity, sharper contrast.

howard was keating-lite, rudd howard-lite. can't have any more lightweight than Rudd. Turnbull tried it, look what happened.
What was he difefrence between Rudd and Turnbull?
Rudd and Hockey?

The mood for pussies is over. Look at Obama -  a lightwight. He is so inlusive, he doesn't know how to be an American President. To him everything is community outreach -bowing to the King of Araby, the Emperor of Japan - it's all community organising.

NZ had enough of Clarke. Blair is gone, Brown soon to follow. Canada, with a conservative government in the Howard mould,  is now the most odius nation for the likes of Monbiot. That must be an encouraging sign.

All of a suddent the Left is the old, fuddy-duddy, stuck in the past side of politics.

Turnbull tried to put the liberal back in the Liberals but instead basically got tossed out for the Conservatives because the Liberal party is a Conservative party.

The greater polarity and sharper contrast did not work out so well for Mark Latham did it?

Post by soren on Dec 6th, 2009 at 8:50pm

Senexx wrote on Dec 6th, 2009 at 3:54pm:
Turnbull tried to put the liberal back in the Liberals but instead basically got tossed out for the Conservatives because the Liberal party is a Conservative party.

The greater polarity and sharper contrast did not work out so well for Mark Latham did it?

You don't have to be a psychologist to see that Abbott is not crazy-brave like Latham.

Post by Amadd on Dec 7th, 2009 at 6:07am

You don't have to be a psychologist to see that Abbott is not crazy-brave like Latham.

Latham could've been good...really good. The guy was a political genius, but he had a bit too much passion for the likes of the downtrodden neo-aussie citizens. It was all too much close up violence, where the neo-aussie is much more proned to go for the arm's length bombing of innocent civilians.
But what's a broken arm or two between citizens when your country's future is at stake?
I'd vote for Latham in a heartbeat, he was a true brave.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 7th, 2009 at 12:09pm

Abbotts more intelligent than rudd.
Abbotts in better physical shape.
His average heart rate was 112/63. Does a 50 minute jog at 4 am.
Abbotts got a real blokes haircut.
Abbotts younger.

Abbott has real world experience - Rhodes Scholar, Journalist.
Plant Manager, Pioneer Concrete.
Press secretary and political adviser to the Leader of the Opposition, Dr J.R. Hewson 1990-93.
Executive Director, Australians for Constitutional Monarchy 1993-94.

rudds only ever been a jaw flapper - Diplomat 1981-88.
Chief of Staff to the Hon. W Goss 1988-91.
Director-General, Cabinet Office (Qld) 1991-95.
Senior China Consultant, KPMG Australia 1996-98.

Post by soren on Dec 7th, 2009 at 6:34pm

Amadd wrote on Dec 7th, 2009 at 6:07am:

Latham could've been good...really good. The guy was a political genius, but he had a bit too much passion for the likes of the downtrodden neo-aussie citizens. It was all too much close up violence, where the neo-aussie is much more proned to go for the arm's length bombing of innocent civilians.
But what's a broken arm or two between citizens when your country's future is at stake?
I'd vote for Latham in a heartbeat, he was a true brave.

Latham coulda been a great contender in the mayoral elections in Campbelltown. Or in State government in NSW where all the crazies come to rest at their natural level of incomptence.

In a welfare state, where education and health is free to the poor, there is absolutely no excuse for 19th century class politics. The divisions are now elsewhere. To party on about Torys like it's 1872 is to be the real stuck-in-the mud reactionary - the world has changed but the minds are stuck.

Post by Neferti on Dec 7th, 2009 at 7:02pm
Latham was The Man you needed at Council Meetings. Come to think of it that is where Kevin Rudd would be more comfortable!! Remember that Dear Leader has only been in The Lodge for 2 years and is never home. Spending so much time flying around The World, chasing World Leaders, and children in schools, to get piccies for his scrapbook.

Howard NEVER spend this amount of time away in his first 2 years.  :-*

Post by soren on Dec 7th, 2009 at 8:40pm

Neferti wrote on Dec 7th, 2009 at 7:02pm:
Latham was The Man you needed at Council Meetings. Come to think of it that is where Kevin Rudd would be more comfortable!! Remember that Dear Leader has only been in The Lodge for 2 years and is never home. Spending so much time flying around The World, chasing World Leaders, and children in schools, to get piccies for his scrapbook.

He is obviously a very strong candidate for the next Nobel Peace Prize...

Post by skippy on Dec 8th, 2009 at 7:50am

Howard NEVER spend this amount of time away in his first 2 years.

So what? Howard was/is a turd, he never had to deal with a WFC and he did sweet fa about climate change, thats one reason we are going to pay so much for it now, Howard was a useless peice of s hit and we 're paying for it now.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 8th, 2009 at 8:43am

nef and skippy - off topic comments.

feel free to start a JWH thread if you wish

Post by skippy on Dec 8th, 2009 at 9:37am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 8th, 2009 at 8:43am:
nef and skippy - off topic comments.

feel free to start a JWH thread if you wish

Sorry master.

Post by skippy on Dec 8th, 2009 at 9:38am
Wriiten by Aristotle-
Yesterdays Newspoll is the first polling measure of the impact of Tony Abbott's elevation to the Liberal leadership.

The primary voting intentions of ALP 43% and Coalition 38% resulting in a projected two party preferred vote of ALP 56% and the Coalition 44%, are consistent with the polling results for the last 20 months.  

However, comparing the performance of Tony Abbott's first poll as Liberal leader with the first poll of previous new Opposition Leaders, both mid term and following an election loss, yields some significant results.

As Better Prime Minister, Abbott's rating differential of (- 37%), which is the difference between the score of the Prime Minister at 60% and the Opposition Leader at 23%, is the lowest of all new mid-term Opposition Leaders.  

Even immediately following an election loss, Kim Beazley in 1996 at (- 32%) and Simon Crean in 2001 at (- 36%), had better differentials than Abbott.  Only Brendan Nelson, immediately following the 2007 election, recorded a worse differential at (-47%).

Also, Abbott's score of 23% is the lowest of all new mid-term Opposition Leaders.  Only new Opposition Leaders immediately following an election loss had lower scores.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 8th, 2009 at 9:43am

Nps skippy.
Abbott may take longer than one week, who knows ?
when was the poll taken ?

Post by skippy on Dec 8th, 2009 at 9:49am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 8th, 2009 at 9:43am:
Nps skippy.
Abbott may take longer than one week, who knows ?
when was the poll taken ?

Newspoll generally poll from Friday night until Sunday.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 8th, 2009 at 11:01am

Abbotts a team player.

.........Senior Liberals continued to refuse to engage in a slanging match with Mr Turnbull, who took aim at Mr Abbott's "bullshit" climate change policy in a caustic blog yesterday.

Mr Abbott said political infighting damaged oppositions and he was determined not to argue with anyone in the party.

"We're all human ... and when we've had a terrible disappointment as, obviously, Malcolm has had over the last few weeks, we do tend to get a bit hot under the collar," he said.

"I know I do it when I've had a rebuff.

"The important thing is to understand where people are coming from, respect their strength and, I guess, forgive them those moments when they aren't their best selves.".

http://www.theage.com.au/national/abbott-prepares-to-wield-new-broom-20091208-kgc9.html?autostart=1

In my books, team players are crucial

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 9th, 2009 at 8:39am

Noice one Tony

yes, ruddys a wimp.

TONY Abbott has labelled Kevin Rudd a wimp and declared him vulnerable to election defeat, while unveiling a front bench he believes will give the government "the fright of its life".

The Opposition Leader has also sought to bury the divisions that have split the Liberal Party in recent weeks, with his new front bench including a significant proportion of moderates who backed beaten leader Malcolm Turnbull.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/coalition-front-bench-will-frighten-wimpy-rudd-says-abbott/story-e6frg6n6-1225808399343

Post by skippy on Dec 9th, 2009 at 12:12pm
Did anybody else see the mad monk on lateline last night?

Tony Jones asked Abbott if he thought his new team could pull off an election victory with him as leader, Abbott said

" Well Tony if I win the next election I'll be classed as a genius and if I lose I'll be political road kill" hahahahahahahahahahaha.
My money is on the road kill.

Post by helian on Dec 9th, 2009 at 12:23pm

wrote on Dec 9th, 2009 at 12:12pm:
Did anybody else see the mad monk on lateline last night?

Tony Jones asked Abbott if he thought his new team could pull off an election victory with him as leader, Abbott said

" Well Tony if I win the next election I'll be classed as a genius and if I lose I'll be political road kill" hahahahahahahahahahaha.
My money is on the road kill.

The old false modesty trick... The hogs like humble... He's pitching for the underdog vote.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 9th, 2009 at 12:41pm

Tony IS the underdog.

labor is fully funded by big business.

Post by skippy on Dec 9th, 2009 at 1:02pm

labor is fully funded by big business.

Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, its my bet that sprint actually believes what he writes and writes every line with a straight face, am I right sprint?

I suppose if what you said were true it would mean that big business believe Labor is the best party to run the economy, hey sprint?

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 9th, 2009 at 2:14pm

QLDs labor is selling off QLD rail.
Imagine if a right wing govt wanted to do that?

big business fund leftys 'cause big businesses benefit from their flawed implementations.

Post by Neferti on Dec 9th, 2009 at 4:13pm
:D

Post by Grendel on Dec 10th, 2009 at 3:05pm
As much as I dislike and disagree with what Abbott did to One Nation and his reasons or lack of reasoning for doing it...  I think he's the best of what is left in the Libs.

Better educated and closer to the average person than Captain Kruddy.  Not as egotistical or narcisistic.

I hope he goes well.

Post by paella on Dec 10th, 2009 at 5:37pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 9th, 2009 at 2:14pm:
QLDs labor is selling off QLD rail.
Imagine if a right wing govt wanted to do that?

Qld DOES have a right wing government. And it will suffer for this even more than the tories would. We EXPECT this sort of thing from the tories, but we do expect better from Labor. I don't know why, but we do.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 10th, 2009 at 9:42pm

The medias right behind abbott. maybe they realise what a botch job they did with rudd ?

love the title:

Tony hits a six with audience of women

IT was a chance for Tony Abbott to put to rest the perception, in the words of his host, that "you don't like women".
But the Christmas lunch in Brisbane of the Women's Network Australia became so much more for Mr Abbott and 80 corporate cougars, who ganged up on him over his penchant for Speedos, laughed at his spruiking of their wares and then joined hands as newfound disciples of self-helper Amanda Gore, author of The Gospel of Joy.

It wasn't an orchestrated picture opportunity; Mr Abbott had planned for a catch-up lunch with former MP and recently exhumed candidate Teresa Gambaro, who was already booked to attend the event in a room overlooking Allan Border Oval.

And like the great Australian cricket captain, Mr Abbott played defensively when needed -- promising to supply a picture for the group's website, but only in "my boardies" -- and moving on to the front foot about his problematic image among women.

Asked how he could be perceived in such a way when he lived with four women, Mr Abbott hit a proverbial six over the crowd of businesswomen.

"Well, I know who the boss is and it's not me," he said, to cheers.

He then paid tribute to his supportive and independent wife and three daughters, before tackling the question of his alleged problem with women.

"I think it is (a myth)," he said. "But in the end, I suppose, in politics you just got, to some extent, just roll with the punches.

"Sometimes they are low blows, sometimes, they are not and you try and be yourself and you hope people will give you a fair go."

It should have been a segue to Ms Gore -- who near-eulogises on how to deal with competitors in the workplace -- but first, Mr Abbott was called to compere the product promotions of several WNA members.

Ms Gore talked of surrounding yourself with the right people and being a leader who is a "spirit igniter, and not a spirit foofer" of colleagues.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/tony-hits-a-six-with-audience-of-women/story-e6frg6n6-1225808818886

Post by auzgurl on Dec 11th, 2009 at 11:33am

Sprint asked.."  

Is this Tony Abbott a few years ago ???"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No this was... silks purse = sows ear ?..mmm nah.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 15th, 2009 at 10:25am

Abbott already has ruddydudd running scared.

KEVIN Rudd has refused to directly address Tony Abbott's claim that Labor's proposed carbon emissions trading system will cost average Australian families $1100 a year.

Instead, the Prime Minister has forecast a Coalition government's response to climate change would wrap Australians in red tape by allowing Canberra bureaucrats to dictate individual behaviour.

In a television interview yesterday, Mr Rudd was asked three times to respond to Mr Abbott's $1100 claim, which has been at the centre of the Opposition Leader's political attack since he won the Liberal leadership a fortnight ago.

Each time, he refused to address the figure.

Later yesterday, as Mr Rudd prepared to leave Australia for the UN-organised climate change conference in Copenhagen, Mr Abbott accused him of squirming on questions about his "great big new tax".

Since ousting Malcolm Turnbull, Mr Abbott has turned the ETS debate on its head by targeting its effect on family budgets.

Yesterday, Mr Rudd was questioned extensively on the hip-pocket impacts of the ETS when interviewed on Sky News.

Asked about the $1100 claim, Mr Rudd said a 5 per cent reduction in carbon emissions would involve a one-off effect on the cost of living of between 1.1 per cent and 1.9 per cent.

"We would then provide 100 to 120 per cent compensation for all low-income earners -- anyone under $60,000," Mr Rudd said.

"In between $60,000 and $160,000, we will provide partial compensation.

"The net result is that 90 per cent of all Australians will be partially or fully compensated."

Pressed for a ballpark figure, Mr Rudd said: "The reason I have used these forms of compensation formula for you is that every set of families' circumstances will differ according to its income."

Asked again to address Mr Abbott's claims, Mr Rudd repeated his earlier comments.

The Prime Minister then counter-attacked, insisting that Mr Abbott's proposal to address climate change through direct regulatory intervention, rather than a market-based mechanism, such as an ETS, would be expensive and ineffective.

"He'll have a team of commonwealth government bureaucrats telling small business across Australia what they can and can't do," he said.

"He'll have commonwealth bureaucrats saying to farmers what they can grow, commonwealth bureaucrats saying to small businessmen what trucks they can buy, commonwealth bureaucrats in Canberra regulating every aspect of the economy. That's what direct intervention is."

Mr Abbott hit back later yesterday, telling reporters the ETS was a tax that Mr Rudd was attempting to disguise as an environmental policy.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/rudd-ducks-questions-of-ets-cost/story-e6frg6nf-1225810375888

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 17th, 2009 at 3:14pm

Go Spartacus !!!!!!!!!!

TONY Abbott is the Spartacus of Australian politics. No longer content to be slaves in Kevin Rudd's victory procession, the Liberal heartland has found its Spartacus and revolted. Most Liberals feel energised by the leadership change and dare to dream of winning the next election. So far the polls have not moved but that gives Abbott plenty of runway. It is unlikely that people have made up their minds about him.
He knows that the odds are against him winning so early in the life of a new government. The key to Abbott's approach is that he is a guerilla fighter. The phrase loyal opposition is to him an oxymoron. No quarter will be given and none is expected.

Abbott is not predictable and will deliver plenty of light and shade. One minute he will be ridiculing the Prime Minister and all his works. Next minute he will flick the switch to serious thinker, including on thorny topics such as indigenous disadvantage. Abbott has used his time in opposition productively to write his part autobiography-part manifesto Battlelines.

He is sustained by strong beliefs and is comfortable in his own skin. He is offering the electorate a contest based on character and not polling or research. Like all guerillas, he has the luxury of picking and choosing when and where to attack. Governments prefer to get their opponents in the open and blast them away. In Abbott's hands, incumbency is a negative as government decisions create new targets for the opposition to attack..........

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/opinion/spartacus-leads-grassroots-revolt/story-e6frg6zo-1225811142017

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 22nd, 2009 at 9:32am

Spartacus is on the offensive.
With so many openings, Tonys toughest choice is only which one to hit first.

THE Opposition Leader, Tony Abbott, is expected to press for a referendum on health funding reform, putting the heat on the Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd, over his pledge to fix public hospitals.

The Coalition is preparing to go to the next election with a promise to overhaul health funding. Its policy will include plans for direct federal funding of new local health and hospital boards, rather than funding through state governments.

The referendum push will be part of Mr Abbott's strategy to challenge Mr Rudd's credibility on his promise to ''seek a mandate'' at the next election for a federal takeover of public hospitals if the states failed to agree to his reform plans.

The Opposition health spokesman, Peter Dutton, is believed to have won approval for the plan from shadow cabinet while Malcolm Turnbull was leader.

Mr Abbott, who as health minister in the Howard government repeatedly described health funding as ''a dog's breakfast'', has told colleagues he supports the plan.

After winning the leadership this month he dismissed as ''another fudge'' Mr Rudd's pledge to seek a mandate for a federal takeover if necessary.

But Mr Abbott has opposed a direct federal takeover of health funding. The Coalition would seek to avoid shifting detailed funding decisions from state governments to Canberra.

Instead, federal health funding would be directed to local hospital boards so decisions could be made close to where services were delivered............

http://www.smh.com.au/national/abbott-launches-hospitals-offensive-20091221-la25.html

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 31st, 2009 at 3:54am

TONY Abbott says he will turn asylum-seeker boats back out to sea if the Coalition wins the next election, accusing Kevin Rudd of lacking the "steel" to fulfil his promise to do the same.
As authorities intercepted another refugee boat - the 59th this year - the Opposition Leader said asylum-seekers must know what a risky business it was coming to Australia by boat.

Mr Abbott attacked the Prime Minister over his lack of "steel" in handling the issue.

"If the circumstances permit it, you've got to be prepared to turn boats around," Mr Abbott told The Australian yesterday. "John Howard was fiercely criticised for this. Nevertheless, Kevin Rudd said he would be more than tough enough to turn boats around were he prime minister, but he singularly failed to show any steel whatsoever since becoming our leader."

The Opposition Leader's comments were accompanied by a fresh broadside against the Rudd government's proposed emissions trading system. Mr Abbott challenged Mr Rudd to release Treasury modelling on who would be worse off under the scheme.

"Given that this is dribbling out piecemeal, I think it's high time that Mr Rudd came clean with the Australian people," Mr Abbott said.

The remarks prompted a government counter-attack, with Acting Climate Change Minister Peter Garrett challenging Mr Abbott to provide evidence for his claim the ETS would cost the average household an extra $1100 a year. Mr Abbott's comments on boats echo a promise made by Mr Rudd in the dying days of the 2007 election campaign. "You'd turn them back," Mr Rudd said of approaching asylum boats. In the interview, given to The Australian, Mr Rudd acknowledged such an approach was contentious, but emphasised the importance of deterrence. "Deterrence is effective through the detention system but also your preparedness to take appropriate action as the vessels approach Australian waters on the high seas," the then opposition leader said.

Mr Abbott acknowledged the electoral potency of the asylum-seeker issue, saying the spike in boat arrivals had registered in the electorate.

Perhaps in a measure of how the debate had evolved since the Tampa crisis of 2001, Mr Abbott indicated the refugee issue was unlikely to dominate next year's election campaign. "I think it's an important issue," the Liberal leader said. "I'm not saying it's the most important issue, I'm not saying it's necessarily a decisive issue.

"But I think it has been a significant issue in terms of illustrating the comparative weakness of Kevin Rudd as Prime Minister."...............

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/tony-abbott-pledges-to-turn-asylum-boats-back/story-e6frg6nf-1225814849388

ruddys a softcock

Post by soren on Dec 31st, 2009 at 7:12pm
Rudd ran and was elected as the non-Howard candidate. Two years down the track, it should not be enough. Rudd is a complete puff-ball. As it happens, he is Snowball to Gillard's (and the Left's) Napoleon.

Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 31st, 2009 at 7:20pm

Gosh, that is good Soren.

Post by sprintcyclist on Jan 12th, 2010 at 6:01pm

OPPOSITION leader Tony Abbott has come out swinging in his campaign against the Bligh government's controversial Wild Rivers legislation, labelling Bligh's regime as "outrageous" and the Rudd government "cowardly" for not stepping in.
In Cairns this morning, Mr Abbott formally announced his intention to introduce a Private Member’s Bill to override the Wild Rivers legislation on Cape York, after his move was revealed by The Australian today.

Mr Abbott, flanked by Cape York traditional owners, said the Wild Rivers legislation - which declared the Archer, Lockhart and Stewart river systems on Cape York as wild rivers - was an "attack on the rights of Aboriginal people".

"(It will) suffocate at birth all proposals for economic development on Cape York," Mr Abbott said.

He said he will introduce the Private Member’s Bill when parliament resumes in February, but without the support of the Rudd government, it would die.

Mr Abbott said he would be appealing to Mr Rudd and Indigenous Affairs Minister Jenny Macklin to step in and let the bill live.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/politics/tony-abbott-attacks-anna-blighs-stance-on-wild-rivers/story-e6frgczf-1225818389816

Post by djrbfm on Jan 12th, 2010 at 11:19pm

Amadd wrote on Dec 6th, 2009 at 1:07am:

I agree with that to a certain extent Helian, and to an extent I also think that we're that victim of circumstance...or victim of the human condition for the want of total control.

To dig out a phrase that I've used ad nauseum, "Like a pot of slowly boiling frogs that don't know when to jump out of the pot". Meaning that if you throw a frog into a pt of boiling water, it will immediately jump out. But if you turn up the heat slowly, it will sit there peacefully and boil to death.
I've never tried that experiment personally and never intend to, but it's the constant incremental changes in our society that I see as being analogous to that theory. And the escalating rate in which they are ocurring is a real concern.

If you were to back-peddle 30yrs or so and look into the future to our present political system, you'd probably come to the conclusion that we have two major right winged parties, one slightly less right winged than the other. Very similar to how the U.S. political system was perceived back then.
Maybe it's just a natural progression of what people want, but the Howard government fear mongering during the last election of a return to the bad old BLF days didn't turn too many people off voting for Labor. And if people weren't scared of it, then did they get what they voted for?

I've never been able to find the exact amount of legislative changes the Howard government put through the senate, but I do know that the figure is huge. By far the largest in Australia's history.

The formula seems quite simple.The media sells the drama, closely followed by new laws and fines..and therefore more control for the government....even though they barely manage for us any of our assets anymore. They've about sold the lot of our stuff, but they want (usurp) more control and more money. Who thu fukc are they to be in existence only to dictate laws and take money?

Every new law is an investment in control. The latest I was just reading in a media poll "Do you think that dog-walking should be mandatory?"
There you go, there's another easy control cow. Simply use the unconstitutional councils to enforce a dog-walking law and take money at their discression.
So how about something that people really care about, like a mandatory law for the banks to stop profiteering from the people?

It's little wonder that people like djrbfm want to get tha hell out of this country, I've felt exactly the same on many ocassions. Especially when you look at the lifestyle of other nations.
Sure there's less certainty of safety, but I haven't wanted a nanny for many a year, and I actually pay money here for the right to put myself at personal risk.
If you want to get out of this country djrbfm, then I'm sure that there will be an exit fine to make it less attractive.

LOL.
your last statement is true, and funny.
respect to you.
the sad truth is, aussie is down the crapper.
sadly.
JR.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jan 14th, 2010 at 7:41pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 7:52pm:
Onya Mozzaok.

oH, GEEZ LOISE: TURN IT UP!

He said, today, that a good conservative principle is to look after the environment and they mauled Turnbull for trying to do exactly that!

"...; and third, because it's a good conservative principle that each generation should aim to leave the planet in better shape than we found it."

source: http://www.theaustralian.com.au/politics/full-text-of-tony-abbotts-address-to-the-sydney-institute/story-e6frgczf-1225819327681

Abbott has a fight on his hands but whether he brings any political guts to it is about to be proven most probably to the negative!

He only started attempting to build momentum from this article....

:D :D ;D ;D

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jan 14th, 2010 at 7:45pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 31st, 2009 at 3:54am:

TONY Abbott says he will turn asylum-seeker boats back out to sea if the Coalition wins the next election, accusing Kevin Rudd of lacking the "steel" to fulfil his promise to do the same.
As authorities intercepted another refugee boat - the 59th this year - the Opposition Leader said asylum-seekers must know what a risky business it was coming to Australia by boat.

Mr Abbott attacked the Prime Minister over his lack of "steel" in handling the issue.

"If the circumstances permit it, you've got to be prepared to turn boats around," Mr Abbott told The Australian yesterday. "John Howard was fiercely criticised for this. Nevertheless, Kevin Rudd said he would be more than tough enough to turn boats around were he prime minister, but he singularly failed to show any steel whatsoever since becoming our leader."

The Opposition Leader's comments were accompanied by a fresh broadside against the Rudd government's proposed emissions trading system. Mr Abbott challenged Mr Rudd to release Treasury modelling on who would be worse off under the scheme.

"Given that this is dribbling out piecemeal, I think it's high time that Mr Rudd came clean with the Australian people," Mr Abbott said.

The remarks prompted a government counter-attack, with Acting Climate Change Minister Peter Garrett challenging Mr Abbott to provide evidence for his claim the ETS would cost the average household an extra $1100 a year. Mr Abbott's comments on boats echo a promise made by Mr Rudd in the dying days of the 2007 election campaign. "You'd turn them back," Mr Rudd said of approaching asylum boats. In the interview, given to The Australian, Mr Rudd acknowledged such an approach was contentious, but emphasised the importance of deterrence. "Deterrence is effective through the detention system but also your preparedness to take appropriate action as the vessels approach Australian waters on the high seas," the then opposition leader said.

Mr Abbott acknowledged the electoral potency of the asylum-seeker issue, saying the spike in boat arrivals had registered in the electorate.

Perhaps in a measure of how the debate had evolved since the Tampa crisis of 2001, Mr Abbott indicated the refugee issue was unlikely to dominate next year's election campaign. "I think it's an important issue," the Liberal leader said. "I'm not saying it's the most important issue, I'm not saying it's necessarily a decisive issue.

"But I think it has been a significant issue in terms of illustrating the comparative weakness of Kevin Rudd as Prime Minister."...............

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/tony-abbott-pledges-to-turn-asylum-boats-back/story-e6frg6nf-1225814849388

ruddys a softcock

Get back on the table tennis ya crack smoker!

Just how pathetic can the metrosexuals get ...?!!?

Post by Deathridesahorse on Jan 14th, 2010 at 7:47pm

Soren wrote on Dec 31st, 2009 at 7:12pm:
Rudd ran and was elected as the non-Howard candidate. Two years down the track, it should not be enough. Rudd is a complete puff-ball. As it happens, he is Snowball to Gillard's (and the Left's) Napoleon.

Geezus, you idiots: I am a proud Howard Hater but when 9-11 happened I voted for him!

Then it was Latham and no-one voted for him to take over whilst at war...

Howard got lucky w/ 9-11: but once he mentioned Nuclear Power he was gone and even he knew it!

Post by soren on Jan 14th, 2010 at 9:29pm
Death may well ride a horse but you are just flogging a dead one.

Post by skippee on Jan 15th, 2010 at 8:38am

Soren wrote on Jan 14th, 2010 at 9:29pm:
Death may well ride a horse but you are just flogging a dead one.

You'll have to excuse sorens attempt at poor humour,DRAH,
I think global warming has fried his brain.

Post by sprintcyclist on Jan 15th, 2010 at 12:23pm

OPPOSITION Leader Tony Abbott has started his election-year pitch as an environmentalist by threatening a referendum to take control of the Murray-Darling basin and proposing a 15,000-strong ''green army'' to tackle land degradation.

Putting aside the vexed issue of climate until the Coalition has forged its policy, Mr Abbott admitted the environment would be a vote-changer, but said the debate should be ''much more than an argument over climate change''.

''The political left shouldn't be seen as 'owning' the environment,'' he said. ''And I am determined to challenge any assumption that it does.

''Conservative political parties and the conservationist movement both want to preserve what's best in our heritage,'' he told the Sydney Institute in his initial policy speech as leader.........

Post by skippee on Jan 15th, 2010 at 2:28pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 15th, 2010 at 12:23pm:

OPPOSITION Leader Tony Abbott has started his election-year pitch as an environmentalist by threatening a referendum to take control of the Murray-Darling basin and proposing a 15,000-strong ''green army'' to tackle land degradation.

Putting aside the vexed issue of climate until the Coalition has forged its policy, Mr Abbott admitted the environment would be a vote-changer, but said the debate should be ''much more than an argument over climate change''.

''The political left shouldn't be seen as 'owning' the environment,'' he said. ''And I am determined to challenge any assumption that it does.

''Conservative political parties and the conservationist movement both want to preserve what's best in our heritage,'' he told the Sydney Institute in his initial policy speech as leader.........

Yea right, I had a chat to Tony this morning on his blog(in the Sydney Tele for those interested) when I challenged tony on his new found love for all thing Green and Aboriginal Tony's reply was "well skippy go out and buy my book" some leader, he's more interested in book sales.
He must be still bitching about not earning enough now that  he is  a member of the opposition.
i read a story yesterday that Turnbull is in the USA discussing leadership of parties both here and there, I'll bet you a twenty dollar lottery ticket that Mal will be the Leader again of the Libs, THIS YEAR.
Mal already has the numbers, the old biddy who was too sick to vote at the last spill is a Turnbull supporter, as are the two new members from the by elections held late last year.
SEE YA TONY.

Post by sprintcyclist on Jan 27th, 2010 at 9:42am

sex therapist agrees with Abbotts "conservative" views.
Sort of makes gillard look lika an idiot or a "loose" woman

TONY Abbott's public foray into sexual politics will "confirm the worst fears of Australian women", the Deputy Prime Minister says.

As the Opposition Leader yesterday defended an interview he gave with The Australian Women's Weekly in which he referred to a woman's virginity as a "gift", he came under fire from Australian women, including Julia Gillard, many of whom found his comments old-fashioned, unwelcome and obtrusive.

Ms Gillard -- once criticised by Mr Abbott for lacking "broader lifetime experience" -- said Australian women, "don't want to be lectured by Mr Abbott".

"These comments will confirm the worst fears of Australian women about Tony Abbott. Australian women don't want to be told what to do by Tony Abbott," she said.

In The Australian Women's Weekly article, Mr Abbott said he would advise his three daughters not to give away their virginity "lightly" and try to adhere to the "rules" on sex before marriage.

Defending his comments on Melbourne 3AW radio yesterday, the Opposition Leader said one's virginity was "the greatest gift" you could give someone.

"(Women) shouldn't give themselves away lightly," the former Catholic seminarian said.

But he added, "I'm not trying to be a preacher."

Mamamia blogger Mia Freedman said while Mr Abbott's remarks were not surprising coming from a father of three daughters, they were highly conservative.

"It's scary when politicians start making pronouncements about what women should do with their bodies," she said yesterday.

"What about men -- do they also have a gift to bestow?"

Author and academic Catharine Lumby said Mr Abbott's comments harked back to an era when women, "were shamed and blamed for having a normal sexual appetite and behaviour."

"A huge concern I have about this valuing of (female) virtue is that it is tied to a kind of sexual currency," Professor Lumby said.

But as many angry women took to the internet to vent at Mr Abbott's remarks, the Opposition Leader found support from author and sex therapist Bettina Arndt.

"If we were to grill a range of male politicians about their sexual views and their attitudes towards their daughters' sexuality, we would find many who are less comfortable and thoughtful than Tony Abbott.

"I think many people admire his willingness to speak openly about his personal life, his mistakes and his attempts to reconcile his personal moral beliefs with what he knows to be reality of women's lives."

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/abbott-confirms-lwomens-worst-fears/story-e6frg6n6-1225823774571

Post by JaeMi on Jan 27th, 2010 at 1:34pm
I hope Turnbull establishes his own party or becomes the leader of the Libs. I really don't want to vote for a party led by Rudd or Abbott at the moment. I think saying that giving one's virginity is "the greatest gift" is a really awful thing to say. What about commitment for life? Isn't that much more important? Also, the way he said it implied this would only apply to women. Sexist much?

Post by soren on Jan 27th, 2010 at 5:09pm

Hlysnan wrote on Jan 27th, 2010 at 1:34pm:
I hope Turnbull establishes his own party or becomes the leader of the Libs. I really don't want to vote for a party led by Rudd or Abbott at the moment. I think saying that giving one's virginity is "the greatest gift" is a really awful thing to say. What about commitment for life? Isn't that much more important? Also, the way he said it implied this would only apply to women. Sexist much?

He's is saying to his daughters, don't bugger around just because it is made out to be cool.  He can't quite say to them, bugger around for 10-15 years and then see if you can find a bloke for lifelong commitment. Would you say that to your daughters?

Post by JaeMi on Jan 27th, 2010 at 6:52pm
Of course I would oppose sex before marriage, but to say that virginity is the greatest gift, it just doesn't sound like the right thing to say. And since he's making a public statement he should be more gender neutral. That's just my opinion.

Post by soren on Jan 27th, 2010 at 8:18pm

Hlysnan wrote on Jan 27th, 2010 at 6:52pm:
Of course I would oppose sex before marriage, but to say that virginity is the greatest gift, it just doesn't sound like the right thing to say. And since he's making a public statement he should be more gender neutral. That's just my opinion.

He's got three daughters. He was asked what he would say to them. You don't have to be SO reflexively looking for gender neutrality/inclusiveness ALL the time.  He is obviously hoping his daughters won't be seking gender reassignment so he does not speak about/to them in he/she terms.  Is that offensive to the transgender community?

Post by sprintcyclist on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 8:45am

Abbott's flogging kruddy.
maybe it is his honest answers, direct fatherhood to his daughters, trashing krudds ETS or that he is in good shape himself.
or is it that kruddy is a constant loser ??

TONY Abbott's opposition to the Rudd government's emissions trading scheme appears to have lifted the Coalition to its best position since the 2007 election loss, and Kevin Rudd's personal support is at its lowest since he became Prime Minister.

The electoral turnaround has occurred since the collapse of the Copenhagen climate change conference, and Mr Rudd yesterday warned his parliamentary colleagues that Labor "could lose the next election".

Today, the Coalition releases its own plan to cut greenhouse gas emissions by 2020 without an ETS or a carbon tax, while the government introduces an ETS that was rejected by all non-Labor senators in December.
The Liberal Party and Coalition primary votes are at their highest levels since John Howard lost government, and Labor's 10-point two-party preferred lead at the beginning of December has been cut to just four points, 52 per cent to 48 per cent.
According to the latest Newspoll survey, conducted last weekend exclusively for The Australian, the Liberal Party's primary vote rose three percentage points to 37 per cent - its highest since the election; the Coalition's vote was 41 per cent compared with Labor's unchanged 40 per cent two weeks ago. Although the primary vote difference is within the margin of error, it is the first time the Coalition has been in front of Labor on primary vote, and the two-party-preferred margin is the equal closest since 2007.

Mr Rudd's personal standing has continued to fall, with his satisfaction rating dropping two points to 50 per cent last weekend - a decline of nine percentage points since the start of November; dissatisfaction jumped four points to 38 per cent, his highest level as Prime Minister.

While the Coalition vote rose, dissatisfaction with the Leader of the Opposition rose four points to 39 per cent reflecting a six point rise in dissatisfaction among females following Mr Abbott's comments on virginity.

Mr Rudd continued to dominate Mr Abbott as the preferred prime minister by 58 per cent to 26 per cent. But Mr Abbott's 26 per cent as preferred prime minister is equal to Malcolm Turnbull's best figure in September 2008.

Yesterday, Mr Rudd told a meeting of Labor MPs this year's parliamentary sitting would be a "tough year" and that Labor "could certainly lose the election".

One Labor MP said Mr Rudd told the MPs: "If you looked at history with [Bob Hawke in] 1984 and Howard in 1998, it showed they had a particularly tough time during their first time at re-election".

Since Mr Abbott replaced Mr Turnbull in December and dumped Liberal support for Labor's Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme and the Copenhagen talks collapsed, Labor's primary vote has fallen three points, its two-party preferred vote has fallen four points and dissatisfaction with Mr Rudd has risen six points to a high of 38 per cent.
Mr Abbott continued to campaign against the ETS, describing it as a "great big new tax".

Climate Change Minister Penny Wong backed Mr Rudd's claim that the Coalition's climate change plan would involve a "megatax".

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/politics/tony-abbott-keeps-pulling-back-labors-lead-newspoll/story-e6frgczf-1225825707527

Post by helian on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 12:08pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 8:45am:
maybe it is his honest answers, direct fatherhood to his daughters, trashing krudds ETS or that he is in good shape himself.

Direct fatherhood to his daughters?  

Been doing some research? Don't get caught stealing his washing off the line.

Post by Karnal on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 2:41pm

NorthOfNorth wrote on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 12:08pm:

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 2nd, 2010 at 8:45am:

Direct fatherhood to his daughters?  

Been doing some research? Don't get caught stealing his washing off the line.

Or from the basket. You'd find some interesting stains in there.

Abbott's just the type to get caught up in some sordid, stilletto heel licking, catfood-eating sex scandal that blows his pious "credibility" to Kingdom cum.

It's a pity the electorate is too superficial to elect a hard-core fetishist to high office. We need more submissives in control.

I'm sure the public service would enjoy a well-earned break, anyway.